My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Made the recipe exactly as stated but just didn't find the flavors to be developed. And I definitely didn't care for the vinegar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Loved it. So quick, easy and tasty. Like other reviewers, we enhanced the flavor by adding a bottle of clam juice, and reducing the amount of cream. We ate this as a main dish by also making it lighter and adding more protein. For the extra protein, add a pound of scallops, shrimp, haddock or cod, or some combination. To lighten the chowder, replace the quart of half-and-half with 2 just cups of whole milk. Also, make it lighter by thickening it with cornstarch dissolved in a bit of water instead of the butter and flour. Add the cornstarch mixture when you add the seafood at the end. Simmer everything a few minutes, then slowly add the broth to the milk to raise the temperature of the milk, before combining everything in the pot, and bringing to a last simmer. I also added 2 packets of Splenda at the end to enhance the natural sweetness of the seafood. You could also do this with a very small quantity of sugar if you prefer. It tasted so good, that I never added the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Made recipe exactly except had home canned diced clams so I probably had less juice. Liked that the veggies cooked in the juice. I didn't use bacon like some other reviewers suggested because this is CLAM chowder, not potato soup with clams! Vinegar is a must. Had to thin the final product a little as my husband thought it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I'm sorry to say that I was not very impressed with this recipe. This needed a LOT more flavor and it was WAY too thick. I will keep looking for a great clam chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artworkbykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TENERBENER
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Added bacon grease to the butter. Left out the carrots. Used all clam juice instead of water. Mixed whole and chopped clams. Added Old Bay seasoning. First time making Clam chowder and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Super rich and delicious. This is NOT a low fat recipe and tastes like something you would get in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was a yum! Followed the recipe except for using clam broth instead of water. I am my own worst critic and I loved this. I used chopped clams canned and fresh and small canned baby clams. Pioneer girl's best clam chowder is my best clam chowder too. This was so fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
If dairy doesn't agree with your stomach, you can omit the butter and half-half. Here's how.... Soak 1 c. raw cashews for 2 hours or overnight. Drain and blend cashews with 1-8 oz bottle clam juice and 2-3 t. cornstarch. Blend till it is smooth and silky - no nutty lumps. Add this to the veggie mixture at step #2 of the recipe and use more water to thin chowder to the right consistency. Heat through 2-4 min, and move onto step #3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
everyone loved this soup ! I did add crumbled bacon pieces before serving amazing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Clay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
awesome!! easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States