My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe but I also followed chefsingledad's recipe and added the bacon. It was delicious. I've made it for family and friends and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This truly was the best Clam chowder I ever put in my mouth. After reading the reviews, I will try adding the bacon and cooking all of it in the iron skillet. Don't know how this recipe can be improved but after reading some of the reviews, I will try cooking the bacon in the skillet and cooking the veggies in the drippings and adding the chopped bacon. ---- Barbara526
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I love this recipe! Ive made it several times.....I did make the following changes...I used 4 cans of chopped clams, i did not use carrots, i used dried onion and added some additional spices. It is easy enough for anybody to make and turns out awesome! Better than the restaurant :) Also....used reduced fat half and half and it remained the same :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I am keeping this one. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe. I only used one pot. Just before the veggies were done I added the cream and cornstarch/water mixture. I also used heavy cream instead of half and half. Quick & easy & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It's a pretty good recipe. It's not particularly outstanding but it's not bad. I was hoping for a creamier consistency but it was a little on the thin side for me. Next time I plan on using heavy cream instead of half and half - I'm not one to count calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
By far the best clam chowder recipe I have followed. I read people's feedback and reduced the amount of flour to 1/2 cup; I used a half of cup of milk and a pint of heavy whipping cream; I used bacon (who doesn't love bacon).. I also used 5 cans of clams - 3 minced; 2 chopped; and then sauteed the onions and garlic in the grease and followed the recipe above... being a seafood lover I added bay scallops and a can of lump crab meat; then crumbled the bacon in and added old bay seasoning and a few crushed red peppers... I love it!! It's rich, creamy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Washington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made a few changes to this recipe which made it a 5 star in my house ! I used freshly shucked little neck clams and oysters which made all the difference in flavor. I also used 2 cups chicken broth and 2 cups half and half. I did not have any red wine vinegar so I used cider vinegar and I also added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper for some kick. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious! I added only 2 cups of half & half and the rest milk. It was a little too thick, so I added a little more milk at the end. I also only used half of the butter to cut down a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Loved it. My husband said it was the best clam chowder he ever had. I added the bacons, as suggested, and that made all the difference, I think. Super creamy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States