My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Two of my adult daughters told me this is their "go to" clam chowder recipe so I decided to try it since DH and I love clam chowder, especially on cold days!This recipe is very close to the one I normally make and is very good but we found it to be a bit too "milky" tasting so I'll go back to my original way of making chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Mine had a floury taste to it. My girlfriend told me that I needed to boil the flour mixture a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I used fat free half and half and sprinkled in some Lawry salt. Like other reviewers I added crumbled bacon. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This passed my husband's chowder high standards. I used bacon grease, as suggested by other users, to cook the onions and potatoes. I also left out the celery & carrots. Will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My children are going through food testing so we needed to make this dairy free. I used coconut milk instead of half-and-half. I also added Old Bay Seasoning and white pepper. Didn't try the bacon this time around. This was wonderful! The coconut milk added a slight sweetness. I think it would be really good countered with bacon and liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Arrowood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Somerset, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This was a great hit with my family of four. Even my picky five year old had two servings and together we finished the pot in one sitting. I wouldn't change a thing. No bacon needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
used crystal s most helpful critical review and added extra spices and bacon and bacon grease. awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I love clam chowder, but have never made it before. I must say I loved this! I will make again soon. I left out the carrots, simply because I didn't have them and think I will continue to leave them out as I don't see them adding anything to this. I took others suggestions and fried a few strips of bacon first and added veggies to this, though next time I will brown up some of the onion first and try it that way before adding the liquid. I added clam juice and some water to make the liquid and recommend this for a more clam flavor. I will add more clams to my next batch for more flavor, but bought all the store had at the time and didn't want to run out to another store. I cooked my cream mixture till it was nice and thick and it ended up being perfect when added to liquid. I liked the nice creamy, rich texture of the soup. Although this is not the healthy version of the soup, it is a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We all loved this recipe! I prepared it exactly as written and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
As you probably know, there's not a lot of oceanfront property here in Tennessee. Nevertheless New England Clam Chowder has always been one of my favorite dishes. Love at first bite. This recipe yielded the best NECC I have ever eaten. And thanks to PIONEERGIRL, I made it myself! (Big grin.) I made it by the recipe with the exception, like others, I cooked bacon to use as a topping and cooked the onions in the bacon grease. Everything else by the recipe. And I do want to echo: The vinegar makes this chowder. Who woudda thunk it? Many, many thanks PIONEERGIRL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States