My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Well received by the entire family (which, in itself, is a feat!). I doubled the recipe, and added a full pound of crumbled bacon (I added slightly less butter for the roux, using bacon drippings instead). Because I added so much bacon, next time I would probably add an extra can of clams. But, the taste was amazing nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is a GREAT clam chowder recipe. I didn't have half and half on hand, but used half skim and half heavy cream. Incredibly delicious and a real hit for Christmas Eve. I didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I thought the soup was excellent. Was a bit leary about adding the wine vinegar but did anyway and was surprised how well it tasted. The only thing I did different was I followed a few others and cooked up some bacon and sauteed the veggies and added bacon to the soup. I do not like a thin clam chowder and was pleased with the consistency of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJMICHIGAN
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I didn't make it but you can't make chowder without bacon or panchetta being rendered first. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
a keeper! Made my roux with bacon grease and added a smidge of liquid smoke as well. While this recipe said 8 servings, it was just enough for 4 adults as mains, with spinach hot pockets on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suz
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This would be good with either Malt Vinegar or a spot of lemon juice if you don't have red wine vinegar on hand. Turned out so good! I cut the recipe in half and added a bit of bacon. I was also out of onion so I used onion powder instead. It worked fine and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The vegetable portion with the clam juice was fine, however the cream mixture was very very thick, after combining the 2 parts, the ladle actually will rest on the top of the soup without sinking.I think it probably would work with half of the flour called for. I added 2 cups of chicken to thin a little. Also I added the vinegar as many reviewers thought it added,but be prepared you will have a vinegar taste which is fantastic with bean soup, but not what I expect with a chowde
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have been making this for years. It's the Bratten's Restaurant recipe. Bratten's was a marvelous place in Salt Lake City, Utah that closed about20 years ago. The red wine vinegar gives it that "extra something" that makes it unique. Best Clam Chowder in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is so delicious! Even my sister who normally doesn't like clam chowder loved it. Not too much of a seafood taste (I know it's cam chowder, but too much can even ruin it) and very creamy. I will probably be making this again...most likely for my family to have during the winter months. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Very nice recipe :). I used clam juice (from the cans) + 2 extra bottles instead of using water, and instead of putting carrots I just added a bit more potato and celery. I also sauteed my veggies in the bacon fat (and cut down the amount of butter). At first I was very skeptical of the red wine vinegar so did not put it into my pot of soup...Instead I put in a few drops into my own bowl. I was quite surprised how well it worked and will definitely add it straight into the soup next time :). Lastly for those who are saying that the clam chowder tastes like flour: You need to cook the raw flour taste of our your roux before adding in the 1/2 & 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States