My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
A big hit tonight!!! We did alter it some. For the chopped potatoes we used a 2 lb bag of southern style frozen potatoes. We used 2 cans of minced and one can of chopped clams. We omitted the carrots, and used garlic instead of onions. We didn't add water and in fact we used a jar of clam juice and a beer. We didn't have enough half & half so we used milk and thickened it with some corn starch. Oh, and we also did like the others and used the bacon grease for the celery and garlic and that added great flavor. So it seems like we altered this recipe a lot. We sort of did, but we couldn't have made it without the basic recipe, which is similar to a recipe my husband and I used to make 20 years ago, but lost somehow! Oh, and we served it bread bowls! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
My family wants this every Christmas Eve now! I've been making it for the last several years and finally took the time to review it. I make it exactly as written. Wonderful with fresh homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I have made this twice with rave reviews from family and friends. I did add more Clams that what the receipe said. Single receipe I added 2 extra cans. Yum!! Forgot to say, I also used Fat Free Half and Half and Smart balance for the Rhue the second time and it was as good as the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Garner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Family loved it! Was a big hit with sour dough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsnyderp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I added a little fresh garlic and we loved it. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
AMAZING!!! Soup had a bit of a floury taste to it so I added Old Bay as other reviewers have suggested. Couldn't have been happier! The Old Bay is a MUST HAVE for this recipe. Hands down, the best Clam Chowder I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: Clayton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe! I've made this many many times and it always goes over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Followed recipe. I thought it had little flavor. I didnt like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very good.. Family loved it. I did add some crab and shrimp boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamythayer
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
My daughter requested clam chowder after remembering having it at Disneyland, so like a good mom does (when she's been adequately buttered up and swayed by a sweet smile and batting eyelashes) I promised her is give it a whirl. Having never made homemade clam chowder I was nervous but or no reason. It was easy to make and turned out fabulous. My picky son who hates veggies of any type scarfed down two bowls. My daughter said it outranks Disneyland and is the "Best ever!" I agree. Will definitely be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States