My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I added 6 ozs of crab cause I like crab. The red wine vinegar really tied the dish together. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I added bacon as others suggested, and cooked the onion with the bacon. Used spelt flour for gluten free. Didn't have red wine vinegar, so I used white wine vinegar. Puréed the veggies slightly before adding the cream mixture. This was very good. I would not purée the veggies the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Used mussels instead of clams. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Longo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
My husband requested clam chowder, which I had never made before, so I found this recipe. It met his approval (and mine!). Recipe was easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great basic recipe. I have made this recipe a number of times and my family loves it. I do modify it to our liking by seasoning the veggies with seasonal all, onion and garlic powder, adding a little rosmary and tyme, and sometimes a splash of chicken broth with water replacing the yucky canned juice, and once even added scallops Yum!. My mods definitely change this recipe from being a classic clam chowder, but I'm sure glad I found it because it's still pretty good as is in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Delicious with the bacon modification. Be careful with the bacon proportions though. I used 4 slices of Nueskes, which is a high quality brand with a potent flavor. The chowder takes on a heavy bacon flavor. Still delicious, but you lose the clam aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
My very first time making clam chowder and it was so easy plus so good!! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This recipe was very bland and too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by affiebear
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
We added some minced garlic and bacon. Ended up very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States