My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Not good... even after the bacon-specific additions, an extra can of clams, a bottle of clam juice, and some clam bullion, it still tasted like cafeteria potato soup. Not good, very sad. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
yes its great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is the best clam chowder I've ever had! And it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Most likely the best clam chowder I have ever tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter. Served at Thanksgiving,Christmas,Forth of July,Family and Church get together's. I always get told this is the best Clam Chowder I've ever eaten. Only trouble is I can't go anywhere without, Hey you bringin soma that chowder with ya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alvarezem
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Delicious! My kids and husband said better than some coastal restaurants in San Francisco and Monterey! I happened to have some bacon oil left from breakfast this morning so used that to sauté the vegetables. I added 2 cloves garlic. I used the half and half and added fresh parsley and garlic salt. I didn't have red wine vinegar so I used 1T rice vinegar + 1T red wine cooking sherry. Came out very creamy and rich! A small bowl was satisfying. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was the first time I have ever made clam chowder and it was a hit. I read some of the reviews and I agree that bacon makes a big difference. I omitted the carrots but used everything else. It turned out fantastic. I will make this often. I might end up weighing 500 pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiAnn Keenan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was amazing. I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is my favorite clam chowder. I modify it slightly. I add a lot of water to the veggies, a lot more veggies, and I don't put in the red wine vinegar. But this is a great recipe even if I put my own twist on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is a very good clam chowder recipe! It was my first time making the chowder and I used the other reviewer's tips of incorporating bacon into the chowder. I cooked the bacon first and then tossed the veggies, water, and clam water into the bacon grease, yum! I did notice that I cut the potatoes too small so when they were fully cooked, the celery and carrots were still a little crunchy. Be mindful of the chunk size of the potatoes is my advice, but I am a novice cooker so you guys must already know it! Also, I used 1 pint of half and half and 1 pint of non fat milk to make the two quarts, I did not want it to be too heavy. It turned out great! I had two bowls of this soup and it is serious comfort food. I'm making this soup for my boyfriend when he comes back from Afghanistan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States