My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was a yum! Followed the recipe except for using clam broth instead of water. I am my own worst critic and I loved this. I used chopped clams canned and fresh and small canned baby clams. Pioneer girl's best clam chowder is my best clam chowder too. This was so fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
If dairy doesn't agree with your stomach, you can omit the butter and half-half. Here's how.... Soak 1 c. raw cashews for 2 hours or overnight. Drain and blend cashews with 1-8 oz bottle clam juice and 2-3 t. cornstarch. Blend till it is smooth and silky - no nutty lumps. Add this to the veggie mixture at step #2 of the recipe and use more water to thin chowder to the right consistency. Heat through 2-4 min, and move onto step #3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
everyone loved this soup ! I did add crumbled bacon pieces before serving amazing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Clay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
awesome!! easy. see paper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is a nice and easy clam chowder recipe. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and cooked six slices of bacon to crumble into the soup and then cooked the vegetables (omitted the carrots) in the bacon grease. I also used a bottle of clam juice instead of water. The red wine vinegar is the key to this recipe, don't skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is the best clam chowder I have ever had. I brought it in my office for lunch and everyone loved it. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Other viewers use nacon for extra flavor, but I used some smoked turkey wing to add some flavor and less fat. Believe it or not, it worked like a charm. Whenever I don't have red wine vinegar, I just sub some white wine (Moscato) and it's just as good. Most of the time I add shrimp, scallops and oysters also. My husband loves this, and I'm quite fond of it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Loved it, especially my husband who has never liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Guzman Cota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the.fishery
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
The best I've ever had. I did use bacon grease in the skillet with the potatoes, celery and onion (forgot to get carrots). Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Great recipe! I made it with the addition of the common reviews and resaved as My Best Clam Chowder II. Basically added bacon, bay leaves, thyme, 5 cans clams and clam juice instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States