My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
It had no flavor and it was not very not seafood tasting for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
My 13 year old son is obsessed with clam chowder and we buy a can for him at least once a week. (Disclaimer) I am NOT a great cook and when I told my son I would make him chowder instead of buying canned he begged me not to. He nixed the bacon idea as well. So, I followed the recipe and took the suggestions to add clam juice instead of water. The flour/roux think was weird and seemed clumpy and gross. I constantly stirred it until it was like a paste and then added the 1/2 and 1/2. Then I stirred for about 10 more minutes. It really thickened up. Poured in the veggies-Seemed like it would be more of a veggie stew but they mixed well with the cream. Added the clams and turned of the heat. Then added the salt and red wine vinegar. So the verdict= It's way better than canned, add more clams then the three cans and maybe the mixture of minced and whole, needs to be a little thicker, (he likes the Monterey stuff which makes a spoon stand up) So until I get The Old Fisherman's Grotto restaurant in Monterey recipe. This is what I will use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rennaba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was amazing!!! Simmered veggies in lots of clam juice(enough to cover. Leave crunch in the celery. No water was used) and some bacon grease. No bacon added to the soup. ready crushed garlic was also used. Make with fried croutons (French bread cut in cubes and fried in butter salt pepper and parsley) no vinegar was used. did not use exact measurements on anything except for the butter flour and half and half to make the sauce. The directions were very easy to follow, thank you!!! This was the best clam chowder I have ever had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megadelish Lingo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reseda, California, USA
Living In: Caliente, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by unoticedshifd
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Wow this is amazing. I usually follow any recipe to the T tge first time but since I pretty much am obsessed with bacon I added 3 strips crumbled and also used the bacon fat. This is great w/ some oyster crackers, baguette & a glass of Riesling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Beats all the others Ive tried! Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Not good... even after the bacon-specific additions, an extra can of clams, a bottle of clam juice, and some clam bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
yes its great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is the best clam chowder I've ever had! And it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Most likely the best clam chowder I have ever tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter. Served at Thanksgiving,Christmas,Forth of July,Family and Church get together's. I always get told this is the best Clam Chowder I've ever eaten. Only trouble is I can't go anywhere without, Hey you bringin soma that chowder with ya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States