My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
used crystal s most helpful critical review and added extra spices and bacon and bacon grease. awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I love clam chowder, but have never made it before. I must say I loved this! I will make again soon. I left out the carrots, simply because I didn't have them and think I will continue to leave them out as I don't see them adding anything to this. I took others suggestions and fried a few strips of bacon first and added veggies to this, though next time I will brown up some of the onion first and try it that way before adding the liquid. I added clam juice and some water to make the liquid and recommend this for a more clam flavor. I will add more clams to my next batch for more flavor, but bought all the store had at the time and didn't want to run out to another store. I cooked my cream mixture till it was nice and thick and it ended up being perfect when added to liquid. I liked the nice creamy, rich texture of the soup. Although this is not the healthy version of the soup, it is a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We all loved this recipe! I prepared it exactly as written and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Nevertheless New England Clam Chowder has always been one of my favorite dishes. Love at first bite. This recipe yielded the best NECC I have ever eaten. And thanks to PIONEERGIRL, I made it myself! (Big grin.) I made it by the recipe with the exception, like others, I cooked bacon to use as a topping and cooked the onions in the bacon grease. Everything else by the recipe. And I do want to echo: The vinegar makes this chowder. Who woudda thunk it? Many, many thanks PIONEERGIRL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is one of the best clam chowders we have made!! We used real steamed clams and 1 can of canned with the juice and it turned out amazing!!! Great for meals the next day too! This is not a recipe for those on a diet. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe but I also followed chefsingledad's recipe and added the bacon. It was delicious. I've made it for family and friends and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This truly was the best Clam chowder I ever put in my mouth. After reading the reviews, I will try adding the bacon and cooking all of it in the iron skillet. Don't know how this recipe can be improved but after reading some of the reviews, I will try cooking the bacon in the skillet and cooking the veggies in the drippings and adding the chopped bacon. ---- Barbara526
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I love this recipe! Ive made it several times.....I did make the following changes...I used 4 cans of chopped clams, i did not use carrots, i used dried onion and added some additional spices. It is easy enough for anybody to make and turns out awesome! Better than the restaurant :) Also....used reduced fat half and half and it remained the same :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I am keeping this one. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe. I only used one pot. Just before the veggies were done I added the cream and cornstarch/water mixture. I also used heavy cream instead of half and half. Quick & easy & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States