My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Maria Bermudez-Alvarez
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Two of my adult daughters told me this is their "go to" clam chowder recipe so I decided to try it since DH and I love clam chowder, especially on cold days!This recipe is very close to the one I normally make and is very good but we found it to be a bit too "milky" tasting so I'll go back to my original way of making chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Mine had a floury taste to it. My girlfriend told me that I needed to boil the flour mixture a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I used fat free half and half and sprinkled in some Lawry salt. Like other reviewers I added crumbled bacon. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamcgonigle
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This passed my husband's chowder high standards. I used bacon grease, as suggested by other users, to cook the onions and potatoes. I also left out the celery & carrots. Will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamcgonigle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My children are going through food testing so we needed to make this dairy free. I used coconut milk instead of half-and-half. I also added Old Bay Seasoning and white pepper. Didn't try the bacon this time around. This was wonderful! The coconut milk added a slight sweetness. I think it would be really good countered with bacon and liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Arrowood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Somerset, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This was a great hit with my family of four. Even my picky five year old had two servings and together we finished the pot in one sitting. I wouldn't change a thing. No bacon needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
used crystal s most helpful critical review and added extra spices and bacon and bacon grease. awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I love clam chowder, but have never made it before. I must say I loved this! I will make again soon. I left out the carrots, simply because I didn't have them and think I will continue to leave them out as I don't see them adding anything to this. I took others suggestions and fried a few strips of bacon first and added veggies to this, though next time I will brown up some of the onion first and try it that way before adding the liquid. I added clam juice and some water to make the liquid and recommend this for a more clam flavor. I will add more clams to my next batch for more flavor, but bought all the store had at the time and didn't want to run out to another store. I cooked my cream mixture till it was nice and thick and it ended up being perfect when added to liquid. I liked the nice creamy, rich texture of the soup. Although this is not the healthy version of the soup, it is a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We all loved this recipe! I prepared it exactly as written and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States