My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very good recipe. I tasted the soup before I added the vinegar and then after. I liked it better without the vinegar. I also used milk instead of half and half and the thickness was just right. I also added bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I really liked the recipe as-is and I would give it four stars. On the second go around I only dumped in half of the water from the vegetable boil. (the recipe was not real clear if it was all to be used or drained) I also used 2 tsp of my favorite Cajun seasoning dumped into the rue right before adding the half and half. I think it gave it a great kick and the chowder had just the right amount of thickness for my liking. With the small adjustments I would easily say five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Benson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Followed reviews and used bacon, extra clam juice, unsalted butter and more clams. Don't use Old Bay--too salty. Used almond milk rather than cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Have used this as a base recipe. I like to add a couple of diced red and green bell peppers to the veggies. Adds a little extra to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklil33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
My husband and I both loved it. Since my hubby loves bacon I think I'll try adding some next time as some of the reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Really awesome, thanks for sharing the recipe! My granddad used to love this and it was good to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is TRUE New England Clam Chowder! No matter what changes or additions or modifications other reviewers said they made, DON'T. They didn't end up with real clam chowder, where the clams reign supreme. This recipe is spot-on; it's creamy, rich and full of that delicious clam goodness that needs only a chunk of crusty bread and a nice chardonnay to be a meal fit for the in-laws from Massachusetts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robynne Catheron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Family said it was the best clam chowder they have ever had. I loved it too, but the calories!!! I cut my vegetables pretty small and they did cook fairly quickly, so I would recommend checking them frequently right from the start. (I would have preferred to have turned off the burner the moment the veggies became tender.) I cooked the half and half mixture until it was very thick prior to adding the vegetables, since I knew I would be watering it down with the clam juice/water mixture. I never did add all of the clam juice/water, just enough to get the consistency I was looking for in the clam chowder. I did make one MISTAKE, I added Balsamic vinegar instead of the red wine vinegar. I thought maybe I had ruined the dish, but it was delicious with the Balsamic. Not sure if I would make again, even though it was very good because of the calories involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Swanson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I brought it to a dinner party and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Pretty much the same as my mother in law makes it. I start with a roux and go from there because there is no point in dirtying a lot of dishes! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States