My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Very delicious. Followed it pretty close except had no red wine vinager, which is too bad because many others said that was the ingredient that really kicked this up a notch. But still turned out great. Next time I will sub the water for clam juice and add more clams. Used more milk than half and half to cut the calories just a bit. Added a little Old Bay too. Very delish. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I think the red wine vinegar is really optional. I tasted it before and after. I loved it before, not so much right after, but then once it sat for a little while, I couldn't really tell the difference, so either way it turns out fine (though, I only added 1 T and not the 2 called for). I used clam juice in place of the water (3 bottles), and I poured the juices from 4 cans of minced and chopped clams into the pot as well. Once the veggies were softened, I used a potato masher to mash it for a few seconds, to break up the potatoes a bit, because I like a thicker consistency. Also, I used half bacon grease and half butter for the roux, and 3 T. of cornstarch and 2 T of flour, rather than 3/4 cup of flour (I'm gluten sensitive, so I try to avoid wheat as much as I can). I was worried it would all be too runny once I combined everything together, but it was the perfect consistency. I did let the clam juice and veggies reduce quite a bit, but there was still plenty of liquid in the pot before adding the half and half mixture. Overall, I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Out of this world. I don't even like clam chowder but figured it was a good way to get rid of leftover steamers. I love this recipe. It is amazing. I think I'll use it as a base for seafood chowder in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
very easy to make and i agree with above comments. It was too thick and I would use bacon to saute veggies and I would use whole milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2.. next time i'll try it. I'll definitely keep this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bmommy84
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was very yummy, super creamy! I tweaked it a little, I added chicken base to the water/clam juice. I added a couple strips of bacon. I didn't use the vinegar. Other than that, I was very please with the out come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very nice! You can't go wrong with a quart of cream:) Maybe add another can of clams too make it more clammy. Also, make sure not to add too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very good recipe. I tasted the soup before I added the vinegar and then after. I liked it better without the vinegar. I also used milk instead of half and half and the thickness was just right. I also added bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I really liked the recipe as-is and I would give it four stars. On the second go around I only dumped in half of the water from the vegetable boil. (the recipe was not real clear if it was all to be used or drained) I also used 2 tsp of my favorite Cajun seasoning dumped into the rue right before adding the half and half. I think it gave it a great kick and the chowder had just the right amount of thickness for my liking. With the small adjustments I would easily say five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Benson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Followed reviews and used bacon, extra clam juice, unsalted butter and more clams. Don't use Old Bay--too salty. Used almond milk rather than cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Have used this as a base recipe. I like to add a couple of diced red and green bell peppers to the veggies. Adds a little extra to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklil33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States