My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Pretty good, kinda thick but everyone enjoyed it. Made exactly as stated, but added the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I wanted to make some Clam Chowder so I decided to try this recipe and I am glad that I did since it turned out very good with some cheddar cheese added to the soup to give it some better flavour and improve the texture of it. I put both light cream and 2 % Milk which I think gives it the same amount of sweetness that all cream would give which I think has kicked it up a notch with my new addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Made as written with excellent results. New recipe for Lent or any other time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My husband loves this and says it's better than one served by a 5 star restaurant in our town. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is a good recipe. I felt like it was missing something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was my first time making clam chowder and was worried I'd mess up on cooking in the flour, but I kept mixing and it was fine. I'd like more flavor, so added Old Bay and followed the suggestion to add bacon to it! I didn't have any red wine vinegar and I think it tasted great without it. Will definitely make this my go-to recipe for clam chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I found this recipe to be just ok; sort of bland. I went ahead and added bacon to add some flavor. My son liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delicious!!! This was my first time making clam chowder and it turned out great. If I were to change anything I would add more potatoes, but I love potatoes in my soup. I Didn't add the vinegar and used some bay seasoning... Served in fresh baked bread bowls, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
A big hit tonight!!! We did alter it some. For the chopped potatoes we used a 2 lb bag of southern style frozen potatoes. We used 2 cans of minced and one can of chopped clams. We omitted the carrots, and used garlic instead of onions. We didn't add water and in fact we used a jar of clam juice and a beer. We didn't have enough half & half so we used milk and thickened it with some corn starch. Oh, and we also did like the others and used the bacon grease for the celery and garlic and that added great flavor. So it seems like we altered this recipe a lot. We sort of did, but we couldn't have made it without the basic recipe, which is similar to a recipe my husband and I used to make 20 years ago, but lost somehow! Oh, and we served it bread bowls! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States