My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
YUUUMMMMEEEEEE!!!!! It took me two times making it incorrectly (I kept adding the clams in the beginning) before finally getting it right and boy oh boy was it good. I will need to type up this recipe reminding me to hold back the clams. I also only had 1 can of clams instead of 3, but it was still just "clammy" enough. I did the bacon suggestion as well. It made it perfect. Yes, it was a little on the thick side but it was cold and snowy outside and just right for the day. I will definitely make this again. Oh yeah, I got this recipe out of my magazine and it has a few different things listed even though its the same title/chef. It has the use of a bottle of clam broth to go with the 3 cans of clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Excellent although next time I will use another can of clams. I followed the recipe except used fat free half and half to reduce calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gloreyb
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Amazing. Followed directions exactly but used red wine instead of red wine vinegar, and about 1/3 c frozen corn kernels. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I am a New England girl and this is the first time I have rated a recipe way way to much flour in this recipe and I followed the recipe I added 4 bottles of clam juice for more of a clam flavor trying to save our dinner:0( too bad because it's such a good soup night dissapointing1303 likes huh hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
My husband and I absolutely loved this! Will definitely make it again. I also fried about 10 pieces of bacon and put the bacon grease in with the veggies when cooking. Then crumbled the bacon on top when serving it which adds flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Made the recipe exactly as stated but just didn't find the flavors to be developed. And I definitely didn't care for the vinegar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Loved it. So quick, easy and tasty. Like other reviewers, we enhanced the flavor by adding a bottle of clam juice, and reducing the amount of cream. We ate this as a main dish by also making it lighter and adding more protein. For the extra protein, add a pound of scallops, shrimp, haddock or cod, or some combination. To lighten the chowder, replace the quart of half-and-half with 2 just cups of whole milk. Also, make it lighter by thickening it with cornstarch dissolved in a bit of water instead of the butter and flour. Add the cornstarch mixture when you add the seafood at the end. Simmer everything a few minutes, then slowly add the broth to the milk to raise the temperature of the milk, before combining everything in the pot, and bringing to a last simmer. I also added 2 packets of Splenda at the end to enhance the natural sweetness of the seafood. You could also do this with a very small quantity of sugar if you prefer. It tasted so good, that I never added the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Made recipe exactly except had home canned diced clams so I probably had less juice. Liked that the veggies cooked in the juice. I didn't use bacon like some other reviewers suggested because this is CLAM chowder, not potato soup with clams! Vinegar is a must. Had to thin the final product a little as my husband thought it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I'm sorry to say that I was not very impressed with this recipe. This needed a LOT more flavor and it was WAY too thick. I will keep looking for a great clam chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artworkbykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TENERBENER
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Added bacon grease to the butter. Left out the carrots. Used all clam juice instead of water. Mixed whole and chopped clams. Added Old Bay seasoning. First time making Clam chowder and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States