My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Good. I halved the recipe, because as is, it makes too much for just two people. I like leftovers for chicken noodle and tomato basil, but prefer none in this. I left out the onion and carrots because they just aren't necessary to me. I made some bacon beforehand to crumble into the soup. Popped it into the over at 400 degrees for 13 minutes. Pulled it out right before it turned crispy and reserved the bacon fat. I simmered the potato in the juice from the canned clams, bacon fat, and also another bottle of clam juice. Then I crumbled the bacon into the potatoes at 10 minutes and also add the celery at this time. IF you put the celery sooner, it just becomes mush. The potatoes should be on for at least 20 minutes, however, to get that melt-in-your-mouth texture. The only other changes I made was I cut the red wine vinegar by half (can always add more if necessary) and cut the butter/half half/all purp by a third, as I like my soup not incredibly thick. I love it the way I have it! Delicious with sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I used about a dozen fresh clams that I dug today from Puget Sound and it was awesome !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoyinWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suquamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I thought it was fabulous! People who have rude things to say should keep their nasty comments to themselves and only offer constructive criticism. Sad that even on a recipe site people have to be hurtful to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Clam chowder is not my thing but it is my husbands and he said this is the best he has ever had or it would be if I cooked the veggies down a bit. I did the bacon grease as others suggested. I used 2 cans of minced clams and 2 cans of chopped clams. I used 8 oz of clam juice instead of water and I cut the carrots down to 1/2 a cup of shredded. I like clam chowder, I've certainly had it before however it is not something I would order in a restaurant but this was good. Next time I will saute the onion and celery and carrots in the bacon grease for a little bit before covering them with the clam juice per my husbands request and he said although it isn't typical some corn might be good in here.... Also one more can of chopped clams.....I think I will do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Very good chowder. Two things to change....use skim milk instead of half and half. Oberweis fat free milk is the best. Next, use 2-3 teaspoons Knorr powdered chicken bullion instead of salt. If the chowder it too thick add more milk. That's how to make it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I made this recipe for my husband's special birthday supper at his request and I had never made home made clam Chowder before but we both have ate many others recipes and I have to tell everyone that not only was this so easy to make but it turned out more fantastic than we both ever imagined and will for certain make this again. I can also see great possibilities using other veggies instead of the clams for a hearty winter Chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I've made this recipe a million times now! We all love it, but I must admit, I like it better WITHOUT the red wine vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Gonzales
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was my first attempt at clam chowder. I made it two times. The first time I followed the recipe and it was good. Second time I minced the celery and diced the carrots and potatoes quite small and also only used 2 cans of minced clams. I liked this better, it wa creamier and less chunky and slightly less fishy taste which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daniel
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
If you follow the instructions. It is very good I love this soup. Ive just added mini shrimp and you will get a better taste thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This recipe is my all time "go to" for clam chowder, love it thick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States