My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Family loved it! Was a big hit with sour dough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsnyderp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I added a little fresh garlic and we loved it. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
AMAZING!!! Soup had a bit of a floury taste to it so I added Old Bay as other reviewers have suggested. Couldn't have been happier! The Old Bay is a MUST HAVE for this recipe. Hands down, the best Clam Chowder I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: Clayton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe! I've made this many many times and it always goes over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Followed recipe. I thought it had little flavor. I didnt like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very good.. Family loved it. I did add some crab and shrimp boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamythayer
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
My daughter requested clam chowder after remembering having it at Disneyland, so like a good mom does (when she's been adequately buttered up and swayed by a sweet smile and batting eyelashes) I promised her is give it a whirl. Having never made homemade clam chowder I was nervous but or no reason. It was easy to make and turned out fabulous. My picky son who hates veggies of any type scarfed down two bowls. My daughter said it outranks Disneyland and is the "Best ever!" I agree. Will definitely be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It was a little too liquidy for chowder. Also, there was a lack of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jefferson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Great recipe, and adding the fat from some strips of bacon to replace part of the butter (I use three bacon strips' fat to replace 1/4 c), it tastes fantastic! However, I do not use the actual bacon itself as I have tried crumbling and using one, two and three strips at different times, and the whole family prefers the slight smoky flavour to a full-on bacon-y one. I make this once a week and EVERYONE (hubby, son, MIL, FIL...moi) all looks forward to it! Add Pillsbury's Corn Biscuits (come in cans of 8) and you have a cracker meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona LeMaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was a classic recipe that went over extremely well. Loved the addition of carrots. I also cooked down 5 pieces of bacon and used the grease with the clam juice to cook the vegetables down. In addition I included about a cup of red wine to the cooking vegetables. I added the crumbled bacon in the end with cooked steamers (cleaned), thawed clams, and already cooked halibut (other white fish would be fine as well). Rave reviews from those that grew up on clam chowder in Maine on the coast there entire life (best I have ever had). I did utilize light cream instead of half and half and also had to add more water as it was too thick. Perhaps cut down on the amount of flour, 3/4 cup is a bit much. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States