My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
WONDERFUL!! I added 1 teaspoon dried parsley, 4 cloves garlic with the veggies, 1 teaspoon dried thyme, 1 teaspoon dried oregano, and 1 teaspoon hot sauce. INSANE!!!! served with garlic bread and Key Lime Pie for dessert...and YES,,,,Key Lime is ALWAYS capitalized!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I'm in Australia and this is not a recipe that we do ...at all really. I cooked the veg off in some butter and set aside and made the bechemel with spiced (vegiespice,powdered mustard, black pepper)flour. Didn't use bacon fat. this recipe is a total five big stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STOLLIES1

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Essendon, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and loved it, but found it too thick. I thought it tasted as good or better than restaurant clam chowder and I'll definitely make it again, though I will substitute lowfat milk for the half and half. Be sure to have soup crackers on hand for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is awesome don't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lucas, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
So easy to make and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Wow, this clam chowder is the best! It's rich, hearty and packed with flavor. The celery, carrots and onions that are simmered in the clam juice adds to the flavor of the vegetables. This isnt a thin chowder by any means, it is thick, rich and flavorful. There's no need to adjustment this recipe..If you don't care for some of the ingredients, don't spoil it by altering the flavor because it's simply perfect as is. It takes less than a half hour to make, but tastes like it simmered for hours. If you like a hearty and flavorful clam chowder, try this recipe, you wont be disappointed. Thank you for this outstanding recipe PIONEERGIRL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Well received by the entire family (which, in itself, is a feat!). I doubled the recipe, and added a full pound of crumbled bacon (I added slightly less butter for the roux, using bacon drippings instead). Because I added so much bacon, next time I would probably add an extra can of clams. But, the taste was amazing nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is a GREAT clam chowder recipe. I didn't have half and half on hand, but used half skim and half heavy cream. Incredibly delicious and a real hit for Christmas Eve. I didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I thought the soup was excellent. Was a bit leary about adding the wine vinegar but did anyway and was surprised how well it tasted. The only thing I did different was I followed a few others and cooked up some bacon and sauteed the veggies and added bacon to the soup. I do not like a thin clam chowder and was pleased with the consistency of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJMICHIGAN

Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States