My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
It was great! Cooked the onions and carrots in bacon grease, then added the potatoes. I left out the celery but added garlic and LOVED it! I thought it was delightful and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I looking for this recipes for a long time ! I have it now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I love this recipe! It is my go to "clam" (or corn/ no clam, since I'm a vegetarian) chowder. I make it a few times per year and have since I found it two years ago. For the vegans/ vegetarians out there, simply replace the clam juice w 1+ cup of vegetable broth and if you are making corn chowder, put the excess liquid you have drained from the corn in to start. I have made this soup so many times and never experienced the lack of flavor some of the other reviews comment on. It may be because I start w vegetable broth and not the clam juice? I do tend to adjust seasonings as I taste to ensure it is flavorful enough (I do this w all recipes, though). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Famiky loved the recipe but I had to use my VitaMix because the roué was lumpy. I also added a half teaspoon of thyme and seasoned salt instead of table salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was good, but not quite what I expected. It sort of had a sweet taste to it. I think next time I will skip the carrots and maybe use milk instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I did the bacon thing as most reviewers had suggested. Only thing I want to mention is this: After adding the flour to melted butter, cook it on medium low heat for a few minutes (10 or less). This remove the raw smell of flour. Also, after adding the half-n-half the flour was made into clots and I only got rid of them by transferring the mixture into a bowl and using the mixer on it for a couple of minutes. That made it totally smooth and nice. As for the vegetable part, next time I'll drain the broth, keep it and put the cooked pieces (except the potato) in the food processor for a few seconds to grind them well, and return to the broth. That'll give the soup a smoother look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
very great recipe. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Great recipe! I like it just a little thinner I think next time will alternate 2% milk with Half and Half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I used two cans of clams, two cans of evaporated milk and then regular milk to make 4 cups. For the roux, use only 1/2 cup of marg and 1/2 cup of flour. I chopped cooked bacon at the end and put it in. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Oh wow! Honestly the best soup I have ever tasted. I can't believe the difference adding Red Wine Vinegar to a recipe does. Next time I'll make sure to have the vegetables ready before I start the soup base... I found that waiting for the vegetables to become tender made my soup base too thick because I kept stirring and stirring but it still came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States