My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Very nice recipe :). I used clam juice (from the cans) + 2 extra bottles instead of using water, and instead of putting carrots I just added a bit more potato and celery. I also sauteed my veggies in the bacon fat (and cut down the amount of butter). At first I was very skeptical of the red wine vinegar so did not put it into my pot of soup...Instead I put in a few drops into my own bowl. I was quite surprised how well it worked and will definitely add it straight into the soup next time :). Lastly for those who are saying that the clam chowder tastes like flour: You need to cook the raw flour taste of our your roux before adding in the 1/2 & 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this Clam Chowder twice already! Yummy! Defiantly a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made as described and it did not have much flavor. On to try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter and found it a bit bland I added a little garlic powder that made it some better but still not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I followed the recipe as is, and it was thick,creamy, and delicious. My family loved it. Next time I might try making it with bacon for added flavor as other reviews suggested. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have been using this recipe for sometime....To send it over the TOP, add 6 pieces of finely crumbled BACON.....Soooo Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Excellent! Just follow the recipe and enjoy the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a good and easy recipe, it do start with bacon and sauté vegetables in bacon fat. I also add a can of creamed corn. Instead of clam I add a package of crawfish. Maybe its a Louisiana thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was a good base recipe but as is, we thought it was bland and very, very thick. Almost like stew. I added more milk and water to thin it down but it was still thick. Will make again and reduce the amount of flour called for. After mixing everything together and tasting I added 1 tsp Bay seasoning, 1/2-1 tsp garlic salt, 1/2 tsp onion powder. I sprinkled some crumbled bacon on top to serve. With these changes my family lapped this up. Served with soft bread and a side salad. The rating is based on recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Amazing! I almost didn't put the red wine vinegar in it at the last but it made this over the top fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States