My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by timzout
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
For being my first attempt at making this meal and after browsing the many available recipes, I was drawn to the simplicity of this recipe. Turned out to be a delicious And easy soup to make, but I did fill a bowl in sourdough bread. I would totally Share this recipe with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is very close to my grandmothers recipe. I use the cream but I also add some milk to lessen the fat content. I add bacon and I cook my onions and celery with that, canned sweet corn (at the end) and I add some rosemary and Old Bay. I also thicken the chowder. I buy extra clam nectar and do not add any water to the potatoes and carrots to cook them in. Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy toutant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is very good. I left out the red wine vinegar since I did not have any. Next time I make this I am going to leave out the celery and and a bottle of clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I used fresh clams that we dug ourselves, so instead of clam juice, I cooked the vegetables in chicken broth. I didn't have bacon, but I added ham. Used 3 cups of 2% milk and 1 cup of sour cream (I was going to use raw goat milk, but it went bad). And I did not add vinegar, but this was REALLY good; I will definitely make it again! Perfect in a bread bowl. Mmmm mmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Turner, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
great recipe, better than restaurants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
YUUUMMMMEEEEEE!!!!! It took me two times making it incorrectly (I kept adding the clams in the beginning) before finally getting it right and boy oh boy was it good. I will need to type up this recipe reminding me to hold back the clams. I also only had 1 can of clams instead of 3, but it was still just "clammy" enough. I did the bacon suggestion as well. It made it perfect. Yes, it was a little on the thick side but it was cold and snowy outside and just right for the day. I will definitely make this again. Oh yeah, I got this recipe out of my magazine and it has a few different things listed even though its the same title/chef. It has the use of a bottle of clam broth to go with the 3 cans of clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Excellent although next time I will use another can of clams. I followed the recipe except used fat free half and half to reduce calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gloreyb
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Amazing. Followed directions exactly but used red wine instead of red wine vinegar, and about 1/3 c frozen corn kernels. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I am a New England girl and this is the first time I have rated a recipe way way to much flour in this recipe and I followed the recipe I added 4 bottles of clam juice for more of a clam flavor trying to save our dinner:0( too bad because it's such a good soup night dissapointing1303 likes huh hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
My husband and I absolutely loved this! Will definitely make it again. I also fried about 10 pieces of bacon and put the bacon grease in with the veggies when cooking. Then crumbled the bacon on top when serving it which adds flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States