My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My mom got this recipe from a friend a long time ago and we LOVE it. We change a few things to make it heathier and sweeter. Instead of 2 cups sugar just do 1 1/2. And instead of 1/2 corn syrup do 1/4 of it and maple syrup. The maple syrup adds a darker richer taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is the best recipes. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
this is absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissi Tucker Kuligowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My first time making caramel corn and I have made this recipe 3 times and it is perfect. Anyone who uses a candy thermometer should just heat on medium til it reaches 250 degrees. Perfect. Anyone having trouble with candy recipes should be aware that SUGAR HAS CHANGED DRAMATICALLY IN THE LAST FEW YEARS. You have to use CANE SUGAR and the only brand I can find in the grocery stores here in the midwest is C&H. They are pure cane sugar, not beet sugar or other random sugars the other mfgs are using. It really makes a difference in candy recipes. I found this out when my fairy food was not turning out after making it for years. I called a local candy company and they educated me on the importance of using CANE SUGAR in certain recipes. I only buy pure cane sugar for both white and brown sugars now. It is plainly marked on the front of the pkg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This recipe is amazing! I've made it twice and the only thing I do different is that I add sea salt to the caramel corn during the last 15 minutes of baking, so it has a nice salty sweet taste. I pop the popcorn on the stove top (about 1 cup of kernels makes 7 quarts of popped pop corn). The first time I made it, I ate some of the caramel corn without baking it, and it was good, but it tastes much better when you bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This recipe was one of, if not THE best dessert I have ever made. It's hard to make, it's monotonous, and can be tiring to make, but it is delicious. Be very careful in working with the caramel, too slow, and it hardens before getting on the popcorn, too fast, and it tastes funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TnT
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very addictive!! My family has been making this recipe for caramel corn for 30+ years. The BEST popcorn to use is "mushroom popcorn". I didn't read the hundreds of reviews so maybe someone else already mentioned this: For quick caramel corn, you can make it without using the baking soda or baking it for an hour. Just pop corn, cook syrup, pour on corn, stir and pour out onto a large piece of foil, parchment or wax paper then separate chunks while still warm. Be careful not to burn yourself...of course! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TnT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
YUM!!! This was a very easy recipe! I had never made carmel corn before... I made 5 batches this Christmas! Followed the recipe just as written. Did use real butter and 3 bags of microwave popcorn as another reviewer suggested. I found that you don't have to bake for an hour. ONe fo the batches started to smell burnt the lst 15 minutes so I cut teh baking time down to 45 minutes and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is the best of the best. I have made this countless times around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by mrsslone
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Absolute best caramel sauce I have ever tasted! Excellent recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsslone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,000) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States