My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
OMG is this stuff d e l i c i o u s!! I used two and a half bags of Pop Secret Movie Theater Butter microwave popcorn and thought this amount was perfect. I tried the paper bag method, as suggested by others, it failed horribly for me. To much of the caramel stuck to the bag, I was so disappointed. I made a second batch and used a turkey roasting pan, as suggested by another use, it turned out perfect! Thank you Anita Louise for taking the time to share such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is the same recipe you can find many places, including I think the Jolly-time website. That being said it is delicious. Never have made any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is a recipe that I would rate a 5+. For my family, this is the perfect caramel corn! I use my air popper to pop 27 cups of popcorn and then proceed with the recipe, only using butter rather than margarine. I've made it with peanuts, with mixed nuts, with pistachios and with almonds. Each batch was equally delicious. I bake on 2 large cookie sheets and rotate them every 15 minutes when it is time to stir. Two very important steps to making perfect caramel corn is - 1. don't put it away until it is completely cool and 2. don't make this on a rainy, muggy or high humidity day as it will turn gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
OH MY GOOOOONESS! H E L L O Caramel Corn wrapped up in the cutest decorative gift boxes for Christmas gift giving and generously shared with teachers, the mail man, the gardener, my snow plow guy, holiday gatherings and could possibly show up in someones stocking if they are good! Warning this recipe is addictive! Make sure one of those cute popcorn packages is for YOUR family! Buttery, Sugary, Nutty, Yummy! 10 Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
YUM! This is so good. It is really important to remove the unpopped kernels of corn before you add the caramel. Also, I like to sprinkle a little salt after the caramel coating right as it comes out of the oven. Oh man, this stuff is good. So addictive and really not that hard to make. I've made it several times now and always get compliments on how good it is. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
THE BOMB!! THIS WEEK IV BEEN TRYING OUT DIFFERENT RECIPES FOR THE HOLIDAYS TO SEE IF THEY ARE WORTHY SERVING AND GIVING OUT AS GIFTS! THIS CARAMEL CORN WILL MOST DEFIENTLY BE HANDED OUT AS GIFTS!! OMG!! EXCELLENT!! SO SIMPLE TO MAKE! VERY VERY GOOD! NO NEED TO CHANGE A THING!! MAKE THIS POPCORN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is so good. I did use 3 bags of microwave popcorn and about 1 1/2 cups of cashews. Also used butter like most reviewers very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this 3 times. First in the micro but it wouldn´t dissolve the sugar. The next 2 times on the stove top. First time it burned, the second time it was good. I think u need a candy thermometer to get it good the first time on the stove top, this burns quite quickly once it is ready. This is the same as micro peanut brittle which is very easy. any leftovers, just pour on a greased surface, cool, break into chunks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Yum! Great recipe! Used butter instead of margarine and did the paper bag trick as others suggested. Quick, easy & worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday for the first time. I had never made caramel corn before. After reading many of the comments I decided to try the recipe as listed. I did increase the amount of caramel by 50%. I added dry roasted honey roasted peanuts and pecans. My wife didn't know I was going to do this. She got home about 3:00 pm. I had everything cleaned up and the finished product in a large canister. I opened it for her and she thought the Boy Scout popcorn had arrived. I said it wasn't. She tasted it and said it was very good. We ate a lot right then. Today about 24 hours later is as almost gone (just the two of us). I would never have believed we could (or would)eat that much caramel corn in a day. We just can't leave it alone. It is by far the best I have had. It came out flawless. I chose to cook it at 210 degrees and stir it every 10 minutes. By the fifth stirring it was completely coated and separated. Nothing was stuck together. I dumped it out on the wax paper covered counter to cool. The coating is clear and glossy, the kernels are individual. It has a slightly brittle outside and very tender popcorn inside. It is absolutely perfect. I am almost afraid to make another batch. We just shouldn't eat that much sweets. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 997) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States