My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Perfect to give away at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I have made this twice this season. It is fantastic and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is absolutely incredible! Very easy to make as well. I prepare the popcorn on the stove -- 1 cup unpopped kernels for this recipe (which I think yields a bit more than the 7 quarts called for, but I like these proportions). As is, the recipe is fantastic! However, I've also made it with honey instead of corn syrup; I love the flavor and the texture is not adversely affected by the substitution. Like others suggest, I always cook for about 45 minutes at 200 degrees, stirring every 15 minutes. I find the peanuts taste a little burnt if I add them at the start, so I like to put them in midway. Warming up the popcorn in the oven just before adding the caramel helps a bit when stirring in the caramel the first time as well. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this recipe.. thinking about how hard it would be. But I will never eat regular microwave popcorn or buy caramel popcorn again. This is the best popcorn I have ever eaten. It did not last so be prepared to make it again. I gave as gifts and everyone asked for it again. I used butter and no nuts but I think I will try the other variations for a change. But if you follow the recipe, it will turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I came across this recipe a few years ago and make it at Christmas time for gifts. Seriously people, this is the best! I guarantee you people will rave. At my brothers birthday party we placed large paper bags on every table and a pretty well known Chef that was a guest could not wait to get his hands on this recipe. lovelove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Super delicious! I used 2 cups of unpopped popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Schultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Love this! I use real butter and one 7 or 8 oz bag of Corn Puffs - found in the snack aisle (Jays, Vitners, Peerless, etc). No worries about unpopped kernels; I put this in cute containers for Christmas; everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Amazing and perfect as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I have tried this recipe twice. The first time I tried it with the various modifications other reviewers suggested (butter over margarine, reduced bake temp, stirring more frequently, etc.). Today I followed the recipe EXACTLY and both my husband and I preferred today's results. Both attempts had good flavor, but today's version was crisper and didn't stick to the teeth...overall a better result. Follow the recipe and you will be pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I have made this and given as gifts for the last three Christmas's. The first year I made it as written, including the peanuts. The peanuts do not add much, so I have left them out the last two years. I have found that the oven temp at 250 gives me better results than the review suggested 200 degrees. I think this year I will try adding cranberries and almonds to one batch. I also use butter instead of margarine. Can't wait to make it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States