My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Made 2 batches for a fundraiser bake sale. One batch original recipe, another batch with the molasses & spanish peanuts for the Cracker Jack appeal. Used many suggestions from others, no need to ever try a different recipe for caramel corn. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Having never made caramel corn before and having bad experiences with caramel/taffy candy I was very wary about making caramel corn. I read this recipe and all the reviews at least as long as it took to make the caramel corn! Love this recipe. I can do it! Thank you very much, original poster and other reviewers. I followed the advice of some other reviewers because I don't like to use corn syrup and used 1/2 cup molasses and 1/8 cup agave syrup because it was next to the molasses in the cupboard. Yum! I will absolutely make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I've tried this recipe 3 times so far and it is DELICIOUS! I cut the servings in half and used 2 boxes of popcorn, threw in some pecans and it is so good! Me and my boyfriend cant get enough of this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Wonderful! Makes a pretty big batch which is good, because it disappears quickly. I use two air-popper batches of popcorn with one carmel recipe. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Amish people use margarine? Well not this butter lover :-) I also don't use corn syrup, I substituted Lyle's Golden Syrup but I suppose you could use agave as well.Yummy, Yummy, Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Stump

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
After having made this several times, I think that the caramel sauce is cooked to a point just prior to it burning. So, it is a little tricky to make and simple to scorch, but totally worth trying and I highly recommend it (with or without nuts). We keep an empty pretzel rod container we had gotten at BJs, just to store this when I make it. I use loose popcorn and unsalted butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I brought this to a potluck and it was a hit! And cheap to make! Now I know that instead of measuring out 28 cups of popcorn (7 quarts), I just have to do 2 popping sessions (2 regular bowls of popcorn). I also thought it was interesting how it makes crackling noises while it's drying on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I discovered an important tip for the success of this recipe! I had to make a double batch and during the oven baking process I used my roasting pan for half the amount and a corning ware casserole dish for the other half. I got VERY DIFFERENT results! The roasting pan batch was crispy and separated nicely at room temperature. The casserole dish batch was a bit chewy and best served slightly chilled and stuck to the teeth more. The stove top portion was cooked all in one pot so that was not the difference. The recipe was DELICIOUS!!! I will do it again but stick to the roasting pan only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This recipe is excellent and very easy. We're dairy-free so I used coconut butter instead of margarine, and it turned out amazing! We will have this all eaten by the day's end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States