My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This recipe is directly out of "Popcorn Cookery" by Larry Kusche, 1977, an "HP Book". There are a LOT of good recipes in this cookbook, if you can find it. Thank you Mr. Kusche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby Cherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I get rave reviews every time I make this caramel corn. It's delicious and it disappears in a flash! I leave out the peanuts because my kids don't like them, but that doesn't take away from the goodness. The only tweak I do is to use real butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
So good, I like the molassas flavor so added a few Tablespoons and some water to the caramel to spread easier and not be so crunchy Wonderful and soooo addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Made 2 batches for a fundraiser bake sale. One batch original recipe, another batch with the molasses & spanish peanuts for the Cracker Jack appeal. Used many suggestions from others, no need to ever try a different recipe for caramel corn. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Having never made caramel corn before and having bad experiences with caramel/taffy candy I was very wary about making caramel corn. I read this recipe and all the reviews at least as long as it took to make the caramel corn! Love this recipe. I can do it! Thank you very much, original poster and other reviewers. I followed the advice of some other reviewers because I don't like to use corn syrup and used 1/2 cup molasses and 1/8 cup agave syrup because it was next to the molasses in the cupboard. Yum! I will absolutely make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I've tried this recipe 3 times so far and it is DELICIOUS! I cut the servings in half and used 2 boxes of popcorn, threw in some pecans and it is so good! Me and my boyfriend cant get enough of this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Wonderful! Makes a pretty big batch which is good, because it disappears quickly. I use two air-popper batches of popcorn with one carmel recipe. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Amish people use margarine? Well not this butter lover :-) I also don't use corn syrup, I substituted Lyle's Golden Syrup but I suppose you could use agave as well.Yummy, Yummy, Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Stump

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
After having made this several times, I think that the caramel sauce is cooked to a point just prior to it burning. So, it is a little tricky to make and simple to scorch, but totally worth trying and I highly recommend it (with or without nuts). We keep an empty pretzel rod container we had gotten at BJs, just to store this when I make it. I use loose popcorn and unsalted butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I brought this to a potluck and it was a hit! And cheap to make! Now I know that instead of measuring out 28 cups of popcorn (7 quarts), I just have to do 2 popping sessions (2 regular bowls of popcorn). I also thought it was interesting how it makes crackling noises while it's drying on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,008) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States