My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Amish people use margarine? Well not this butter lover :-) I also don't use corn syrup, I substituted Lyle's Golden Syrup but I suppose you could use agave as well.Yummy, Yummy, Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Stump

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
After having made this several times, I think that the caramel sauce is cooked to a point just prior to it burning. So, it is a little tricky to make and simple to scorch, but totally worth trying and I highly recommend it (with or without nuts). We keep an empty pretzel rod container we had gotten at BJs, just to store this when I make it. I use loose popcorn and unsalted butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I brought this to a potluck and it was a hit! And cheap to make! Now I know that instead of measuring out 28 cups of popcorn (7 quarts), I just have to do 2 popping sessions (2 regular bowls of popcorn). I also thought it was interesting how it makes crackling noises while it's drying on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I discovered an important tip for the success of this recipe! I had to make a double batch and during the oven baking process I used my roasting pan for half the amount and a corning ware casserole dish for the other half. I got VERY DIFFERENT results! The roasting pan batch was crispy and separated nicely at room temperature. The casserole dish batch was a bit chewy and best served slightly chilled and stuck to the teeth more. The stove top portion was cooked all in one pot so that was not the difference. The recipe was DELICIOUS!!! I will do it again but stick to the roasting pan only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This recipe is excellent and very easy. We're dairy-free so I used coconut butter instead of margarine, and it turned out amazing! We will have this all eaten by the day's end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I made this for a "Passover Dessert", it was a huge hit with kids and adults. Everyone wanted to take one home at the end of the evening! Instead of spreading them on a baking sheet for the last step, I formed them into balls and didn't bake them. I was hoping without baking they would have been more chewy. I will definately make this again and in addition to the ingredients, I will put in "Kosher Marshmallows" for the chewy effect I'm looking for! Shalom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koshergirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe. I followed the suggestions on setting the oven at 200 rather than 250 and reducing the time to 45 min tossing every 15 mins. Super easy, super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe! My only complaint is that I have alot of uncoated popcorn. Next time, I will make extra caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 992) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States