My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
THE BOMB!! THIS WEEK IV BEEN TRYING OUT DIFFERENT RECIPES FOR THE HOLIDAYS TO SEE IF THEY ARE WORTHY SERVING AND GIVING OUT AS GIFTS! THIS CARAMEL CORN WILL MOST DEFIENTLY BE HANDED OUT AS GIFTS!! OMG!! EXCELLENT!! SO SIMPLE TO MAKE! VERY VERY GOOD! NO NEED TO CHANGE A THING!! MAKE THIS POPCORN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is so good. I did use 3 bags of microwave popcorn and about 1 1/2 cups of cashews. Also used butter like most reviewers very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this 3 times. First in the micro but it wouldn´t dissolve the sugar. The next 2 times on the stove top. First time it burned, the second time it was good. I think u need a candy thermometer to get it good the first time on the stove top, this burns quite quickly once it is ready. This is the same as micro peanut brittle which is very easy. any leftovers, just pour on a greased surface, cool, break into chunks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Yum! Great recipe! Used butter instead of margarine and did the paper bag trick as others suggested. Quick, easy & worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday for the first time. I had never made caramel corn before. After reading many of the comments I decided to try the recipe as listed. I did increase the amount of caramel by 50%. I added dry roasted honey roasted peanuts and pecans. My wife didn't know I was going to do this. She got home about 3:00 pm. I had everything cleaned up and the finished product in a large canister. I opened it for her and she thought the Boy Scout popcorn had arrived. I said it wasn't. She tasted it and said it was very good. We ate a lot right then. Today about 24 hours later is as almost gone (just the two of us). I would never have believed we could (or would)eat that much caramel corn in a day. We just can't leave it alone. It is by far the best I have had. It came out flawless. I chose to cook it at 210 degrees and stir it every 10 minutes. By the fifth stirring it was completely coated and separated. Nothing was stuck together. I dumped it out on the wax paper covered counter to cool. The coating is clear and glossy, the kernels are individual. It has a slightly brittle outside and very tender popcorn inside. It is absolutely perfect. I am almost afraid to make another batch. We just shouldn't eat that much sweets. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Some helpful tips... use a turkey roasting pan with curved corners. The higher sides and curved corners will help with the stirring every 15min. I also made extra plain popcorn and diluted the caramel corn at the end when cooling with the plain. Good idea if you have kids and are watching the sugar intake or if you are trying to make the batch stretch a bit. I also used a sprinkle of lrg grain sea salt toward the end when the batch was still warm enough for it to stick. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sewista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Made according to directions and it came out fine. Tasted like Cracker Jacks. It does however leave you with carmel sticking to your teeth which my husband hates so I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This has been my family's favorite for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Best carmel corn ever! I used two bags of microwave popcorn, it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizbuzz82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Used butter instead of margarine, skipped the vanilla but I will add it next time. It is hard to measure seven quarts of popcorn, so I just made a bunch. Could have used about a third more of the caramel mixture. Or maybe even half again as much. Doubling it might be just too over-the-top. But I'm thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,002) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States