My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is a great starting point...I recommend using salted butter (never use margarine, it is unhealthy) and adding a tablespoon or two of molasses. I added the peanuts to the caramel mixture before mixing with the popcorn. While using a paper bag has some advantages, I think it wastes too much caramel sauce, so I used the biggest mixing bowl I have and it worked just fine. I found that 200 degrees is not hot enough to perform the final baking steps, so I turned it up to about 225-250.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great recipe! I gave it as Christmas gifts and it was quickly gobbled up. I don't buy corn syrup so I used molasses in its place, same amount. Did everything else as directed and it was delicious. With the peanuts and molasses, it tasted just like homemade Cracker Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious! I get asked for the recipe every time I make it for someone new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Made three batches of this last night, each came out perfectly. I'm making it for gifts but I had a hard time keeping my husband out of it - and he is NOT normally a sweets lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Perfection!! My five year old has asked me to make several times since. :) -L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is so amazing! I have been making this now for a few years - it's a Christmas tradition now. I always triple the batch (six packages of microwave popcorn) and use two turkey roaster pans to stir. It helps to have my kids stirring the caramel into the corn with me! (I am asked for this recipe every time I give it to anyone - it makes perfect Christmas gifts wrapped up in pretty cellophane bags.) THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charityjojo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This was just way too heavy and greasy tasting. Followed recipe exactly. If you want something on the lighter side don't use this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
AWESOME! I wish this was for me! My only change was to use butter in place of margarine because it was what I had on hand. Long story short, this was one of the treats made for the fellows who load trucks with donated toys for the poor. It adds more joy to what they already experience. Thank you ANITALOUISE for sharing your AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Jazzy
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have tried other recipes on this site, but this one is the best! I followed the recipe to the T and everyone loved the taste!!(I couldn't keep my hands off the treat while it was cooling, lol) I have made it with or without nuts, either way it never lasts long, I made a batch just yesterday to give away as Christmas gifts. Here's a tip, if you don't have waxed paper, seeing as to how I grew up with my thrifty Grandmother, I always keep large brown grocery sacks,unused ones, on hand..just cut it apart, spread it out, take a cold stick of butter and rub it across the paper, works very well. I always use a large aluminum roasting pan or pasta pan. Great Recipe, thanks for sharing, this one will be a keeper in my Family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Decatur, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is the best caramel corn. I give it out for gifts every year and I always get rave reviews. I've even had friends call me up to see if I have any left over so that I can give them more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Weaverville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,017) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States