My Amish Friend's Caramel Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
SO good! I've never made homemade caramel corn before and this recipe was so easy! I did read the reviews before I started out. There is always good advice in them ;) I popped 1 cup of kernels and had plenty of popped corn. I used 2 sticks of salted butter (margarine has no place in my home ;) ) and I totally forgot to add the salt, baking soda and vanilla at the end. The caramel was so amazing! I didn't have a paper bag to dump the corn into so I just used my VERY clean kitchen sink. Dumped all the popped corn in there, poured the caramel over it and mixed with a wooden spoon. Then I scooped it all onto two big baking sheets and put them in the oven at 200 for 45 minutes as other posters recommended. BEST caramel corn I've ever eaten! Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
YUM! I used 2 disposable turkey roasting pans and filled each with popcorn using my air popper. It takes about 5 batches - 1/2 cup of kernels in each batch to fill the 2 roasting pans. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Absolutely fabulous and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was pretty good. Very time consuming. Be very very careful when letting the sugar mixture come to a boil. I accidentally burned my thumb and finger. :( Overall it was really good. You're better off using a roasting pan vs a cookie sheet ..It makes it a lot easier to evenly coat the popcorn pieces. With the cookie sheet you end up with pieces of popcorn on the counter. We don't have large paper grocery bags out here or I would've opted for that instead. I used molasses and corn syrup combo and it was really good and added some peanuts as well. It tastes just like Cracker Jacks. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
i make this all the time! I use the margarine and it seems to come out better than when i use butter, I don't know why. Also I have made and measured the popcorn over and over again, and every time, wit about 10 unpopped kernels, I use 2 CUPS of uncooked popcorn and it always always always makes 8 qts. I make this recipe as stated and have never had a bad batch ..until I used the butter ? wonder why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Kelleher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy C.
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I used butter and popped popcorn on the stove with olive oil. The caramel flavor is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Wonderfully crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Used the seeds from a real vanilla pod instead of vanilla sugar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
It was perfect! I also dipped about a third of it in chocolate... Then it was decadent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I LOVE this caramel corn. My husband and I make it every year for Christmas to give out to friends and family, and have requests for the recipe every single year. My suggestion, similar to others, it to use a turkey roaster, or a deep pan. This makes it a heck of a lot easier to stir without popcorn flying everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,010) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States