Mustard Wheat Rye Sandwich Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
I wasn't able to make this one work. I'm sure that I measured it all out perfectly and the yeast was fresh from the store the day before. I'm using a "Black and Decker All in One" breadmaker; usualy its loaves turn out nicely. I didn't have any "Vital Wheat Gluten" so i didn't use any. Maybe that's why. Maybe it really was vital. In any case the loaf did not rise AT ALL and I thought that it might need salt. Most bread recipies have salt in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Pretty good. I made it by hand instead of with a bread machine, since I don't have one -- instructions for that might be nice for anyone who isn't familiar with the process. Also, the wheat gluten really IS vital -- rye flour doesn't make its own gluten like wheat flour does, and the gluten is what helps trap the gasses that make the bread rise. Ack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I ran out of WW flour so I just used rye flour instead. Even with the additional rye, the flavor is entirely mustard. It's not bad, but if you wanted more of a rye bread taste maybe add some caraway. The gluten is definitely important, as rye doesn't contain gluten and WW flour doesn't contain much, so your bread won't rise properly without it. To make by hand, I let it rise twice, brushed the top with mustard and a little oil, and baked it on a stone at 350 for about 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very mustardy--great with sharp cheddar cheese! The gluten was a must in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This goes way up on my list of favorite sandwich breads. I made this as a sourdough bread. Made the sponge the night before and adjusted the ingredients to get a good soft dough. 1 rise in a freeform basket to make an oval loaf. Baked this on a preheated stone. This was super, got a good oven rise. One of those where you cut the slice in half to make a sandwich; and I am a daily brown bagger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Delicious! yes, absolutely wonderful with cheese. I'm not even upset that I have to make another loaf of bread for bf since I doubt he's going to love the mustard in this. I adore my breadmaker but rarely bake a loaf of bread in it--I normally just use it to make the dough then finish it off in the oven. That's what I did today. I decided to make a regular bread loaf by using my bread pan. Worked out great. The dough smells heavenly before even going into the oven, and it smells great while baking. I baked at 375 for about 45 minutes and it was perfect. Very soft on the inside and crunchy on the outside. And it rose wonderfully well--let me add my voice to the others saying the wheat gluten really is important. Add it if you make this bread! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Really good cheese toast and sandwich bread. I added about 1 Tbsp. each of toasted flax seed and toasted sesame seed. I will make this recipe again. Well worthy of a five star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Boop!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I love this recipe! Have made it several time with different mustards. Have also used dough cycle and shaped it into hamburger buns. This is a recipe I will make quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was perfect. Bread baking is very hard for me, but this worked like a charm. I did miss the salt a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States