Mustard Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This has been our "house" dressing for the past few years. I started using it while living in Scotland - the store bought dressings there are pretty bad. Now we won't go back to store bought, even in the US. This dressing changed us! EVERYONE loves it, my sister says she could drink it straight! The only change I make is to use fresh squeezed lemon juice in place of the vinegar (hubby is anti-vinegar) and sometimes (when I don't have hot sauce) use cayenne. Great with Mediterranean food! Warm pita stuffed with green salad and feta with this dressing = YUM! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Excellent, tangy vinaigrette. Made with white wine vinegar instead of white vinegar, with great results. Makes lots. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I used this dressing as a variation of Emily's Famous Roasted Vegetable Salad, also on this site. The only change to the dressing that I made was to use red wine vinegar because I didn't have white. I crushed the garlic into the dressing after roasting whole cloves with the vegetables. The salad recipe called for the squash and eggplant to be sliced and I chopped them instead. I also cooked the veggies for a total of 20 minutes. Using the recommended time would have over-cooked them. My hubby-to-be had his first bite and thinks I created perfection...can't claim the recipe as my own, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was just a little bland, not sure why. LIke the basic vinaigrette and just think it needs a little something extra. Next time I will add some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I wasn't crazy about this - I think following the recipe as is would have been way too much oil, and too much vinegar. I did as some others suggested and cut the oil, however I used vinegar as in recipe and it was too tart. Proportions definitely need tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was a four star dressing (just a bit too sweet) until I tried it on pasta salad. Cooked pasta, mustard vinaigrette, and whatever is lying in the fridge = my invitation to any barbecue all summer. No mayo spoilage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was pretty good. After tasting I added a little more honey. Also, thought the oil was too much for us. Will make again with less oil and a little extra honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I think this is a great vinaigrette, but I made some changes that make it the best! Use less vinegar - with the mustard, it is too tart. I also doubled the honey since the vinegar needed something to counter balance it. I also added more mustard to achieve that mustard taste. After all, it is a mustard vinaigrette. Since extra virgin olive oil is better for you, I substituted it for the vegetable oil. If you are not used to EVOO, then this substitution may come to a surprise when you taste it. This also stores in the fridge for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Lusk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scobey, Montana, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
YUM! I am back referencing this page again because my boyfriend constantly requests this recipe. This vinaigrette tastes wonderful...tangy, a little sweet, and just a bit of heat for the perfect balance. I do use just a little less oil, but that's all I change. Thanks for such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Good! I used part Extra Virgin Olive Oil, could maybe use a little less oil. Also, it seemed kind of bland, so I added a little more mustard and honey. I took it to a friends house with a salad and everyone loved it and put it on their chicken as well as their salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Balsamic Vinaigrette

This tangy dressing uses white balsamic vinegar for a smoother taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States