Mustard Oil Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Wow! This has to be one of the best dressings I've made on this site and I've made a lot. My husband who only likes corn as his vegetable of choice (unless forced to eat something else) and if I do manage to get him to eat a salad his first response for a dressing is "ranch" as if it's the only kind ever made. Well, we have a winner because he not only tried it, but ate an entire bowl of salad plus asked for more and declared it a keeper. I did use 1/2 c. olive oil and 1/4 c. veg. oil (basically switching them) omitted the garlic salt and used 1-2 cloves of minced garlic, 1/4 tsp. of onion powder and added a bit of sugar until I got the desired sweetness. I would suggest a name change for this one to get more people to try it "Mustard Oil Dressing" is not nearly as appealing as "Dijon Vinaigrette".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
i left out the onion powder and garlic salt and added freshly chopped herbs instead.its very similar to one that my mother used to make.Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe is wonderful but using powdered garlic and onion instaead of fresh deserves 4 starts. Grate onion from your grater and dice garlic for a much more flavorful taste, I make this all the time. I also never buy salad dressings and make all dressings from scratch and people talk about them all the time. Once you master the basics you will always be able to create a dressing not only for salads but many other dishes. If I could share my recipes I would but I do not measure anything because once you know the ratio's it is very very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is a good dressing if you add a bit of honey to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Great base recipe with a beautiful pink color. I like the ratio of vinegar, olive oil and vegetable oil. I prefer a bit of a vinegar punch. I add a honey mustard to sweeten it up a bit, a little more than a pinch of garlic and onion salt and then I crack fresh pepper over the salad at serving time to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by one man

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Good but cut down the oils a bit and it's missing something. Used this dressing for my cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
My mom taught me to make this same thing, but we skip the onion and garlic powders, and use real pressed garlic instead, and we also add some basil. If you let it sit over night, it get's even better! I use it for pasta salad all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGoddessGiGi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
My first attempt at making dressing from scratch. I liked it however next time I'd leave out the canola oil, add a bit more olive oil. And while I love the sharp tang of vinegar, I'd also add some honey for a bit of balance. Overall, great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETYBLKGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Good! I initially made this to use as a sub sandwich dressing and I liked the musterdy-ness (LOL) of this recipe. Was good on both the sandwich and salads. Not very complex flavors, just an easy quick dressing. If you like mustard this is a good one. I think Id like to use a whole grain dijon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Great recipe! I was trying to find a recipe similar to my grandmother's. I bought a pestle and mortar specifically to make her recipe and realized I had bought Dijon, but it should have been Grey Poupon. I think that does make a difference because this dressing is almost as good, but not quite the same. I ground minced garlic (store-bought), salt and pepper in the mortar, added the rest of ingredients, and whisked. Also, I topped with sliced olives. Very good!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States