Mustard Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Tears of joy. Utter tears of joy. A delicious mashed potato recipe without the tons of butter and sour cream that I usually like to mix into it? Much like unicorns, I didn't believe such a thing existed! And yet, here it is, and a perfect complement to the BOMB pork loin with peaches that was marinated, then grilled on my trusty charcoal grill. Not to mention it was a great base to set my over-easy eggs on the next morning, instead of toast... and then a tasty side dish to my grilled ham and cheese sandwich later at lunch. And finally, just because I couldn't help myself, a tasty snack on its own mid-afternoon. I made this exactly as posted with no changes, but you can dial up or dial down the amount of mustard depending on your preference. Myself, I am a mustard-o-holic so the next time I made these, I kicked it up a notch. I will definitely make this again. In fact, I'm making it right now as I type this. Oh joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Was it going to be traditional (boring) mashed potatoes for supper tonight or was it going to be mashed potatoes with, gasp, MUSTARD in them? In the end, the mashed potatoes with mustard prevailed. And I'm glad. So glad. Don't hesitate to make these. They're awesome good. Country-Style Steak, also from this site, these Mustard Mashed Potatoes, and green beans. What a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Big hit with the adults, not so much with the teenagers. The little kids didn't even notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Nice change to basic mash! Went well with steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These were pretty good but the mustard was too overpowering for us. Next time I will cut the mustard in half and try adding in parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This sounds really great. Every try adding a small amount of creme cheese while whipping the potatoes? It adds a great consistency & doesn't change the taste that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good. I was not quite sure about this and thought it would be a fail, but took a chance. I am glad I did. This was really very good. This reminded me of mustard potato salad. I used brown spicy mustard. I would fix this again. DH covered his with gravy and didn't comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Nice complement to our corned beef dinner. Added a little extra butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
delicious just as written; the only change I made was using white potatoes rather than red and i don't think that really affected anything. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
The first time I had mustard mashed potatoes was at an Irish restaurant served with bangers 'n mash. The flavor is somewhat similar to a German style potato salad. It isn't something I could eat with just any meal, but when paired with the right meats and sauces, they are absolutely delish. (i.e., bangers 'n mash, corned beef 'n cabbage, old fashioned pot roast)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States