Mustard Greens 'n Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
These were great. I sautéed 6 slices of good smokey bacon in the olive oil and then proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I also doubled the liquid as we like our greens in a little broth. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Been making beans n greens for many a year, usually with black-eyed peas,ham, and Franks RedHot. tried this, and wow. Yummy. Still good with some ham added. For a quick kid-friendly way to serve it once it's leftovers, roll some up in a Mu Shu wrapper, with 1/3 oz of cheddar and nuke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great taste. I used this recipe with a mix of turnip and mustard greens and the flavor was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saunch09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
if your greens are bitter.....just add a dash of nutmeg...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kelley Harris
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
How could I NOT try a recipe from a gal whose nickname is "fishnets." Actually it was quite good. The previous recipe I had didn't use the vinegar, sugar and dry mustard, which livend it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is my new favorite lunch. If you have leftover bacon fat, add that to it. The red pepper adds just enough zip. An excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
So good. I doubled the garlic and did a full teaspoon of mustard and a full teaspoon of red pepper flakes (we like a little heat). Forgot to add salt or pepper, still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I loved this recipe. Not being very familiar with cooking greens, I found this easy, quick and very tasty. I added a little nutmeg in case the greens were bitter, but it probably didn't need it. My family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJHMIRACLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Wasn't the biggest fan of mustard greens as they can be a bit "chewy". But I didn't want to let that affect my rating as it is a personal preference. This is a great option for a healthy side dish. We added some crumbled feta cheese on top. Went great with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is pretty good. I have never eaten mustard greens until this recipe, and they stuck me as a little odd tasting, but the flavors of the seasonings were very good which saved the dish, in my opinion. I added pork sausage to make it more hearty, which I sauteed with the onions, drained the grease, then added the garlic, and after a minute or two proceeded with the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States