Mustard Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe as it's written, but after tasting it I added another TBSP of classic yellow mustard and a little sweetener (about 1/2 tsp) to taste and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I cut back on oil and should have also cut back on vinegar.. is a good idea. Just need to tweak it a little for my tastes. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This recipe was pretty good, but I think the ratio of oil and vinegar to honey mustard needs to be changed up a bit--the flavors of honey and mustard were really nice with the beans, but were a bit too subtle with all the oil and vinegar. Next time I make this I will probably halve them. All in all, a good, simple, different way to make green beans rather than just with bacon and onion. I didn't have chives for this recipe, but instead just used ultra-thin slices of white onion that I tossed with the beans. I then just microwaved them with the sauce and onion for about 1 minute which caramelized the sauce a little and that worked well. I served this with steamed salmon--yummy combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was delicious, like my mom's recipe I couldn't find! I made it for a potluck and it disappeared! My poor husband didn't get any at all! It is a keeper! I will have to compare this to my mom's recipe. I know my sister has it somewhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COSIE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I liked this, but the rest of the family said they could leave it. I like mustard and it shines thru in this dish. Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Sorry, husband and I had one taste and didn't really want any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGINGCHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Not my favorite recipe for green beans, but a nice change of pace nonetheless. I'll hang on to the recipe to add variety in the summer when I love to eat beans a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I didn't really like it (I think it's because I don't like oil-based toppings very much) but my husband and kids gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I just wasn't that into this recipe. The beans and sauce didn't seem to blend together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I liked this quite a bit. As per other reviews, I cut back the vinegar and oil to 1 T each. This was a nice treatment for beans and I may try it with other veggies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States