Mustard Glazed Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
My whole family loves this recipe! The only thing I do differently is leave the pickling spice out. Tried it once with it and did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I don't have a dutch oven, so I cooked the roast in a crock pot instead. It worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was really great with a few changes.. nothing drastic, but instead of corn syrup, I used 1/3 cup of brown sugar, melted with a couple of tablespoons of butter in a heavy skillet. Instead of the prepared mustard, I used stone ground. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I didn't use the oven for this recipe, just simmered the corned beef on the stove, then glazed it and put it in the toaster oven for ten minutes. The glaze was really excellent, both for the dinner and as a spread for corned-beef sandwiches. I thought it would be too tart and "mustardy," but it was just right--a really wonderful, super-easy sweet and sour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I cook my corned beef on top of the stove the old fashioned way and make my glaze as follows: Glaze for Corned Beef This is for a 3-4 pounds of corned beef (flat cut) pickling spices are included in the packaging Preheat oven to 350 After the meat has cooked with the cabbage, carrots, etc., remove from pan and place into oven proof dish, fat side up Spread the fat side with French’s yellow mustard, then mix together : 1/4 cup brown sugar with ¼ teaspoon of ground cloves Pat this on top of mustard and bake for about 15-20 minutes or until nicely glazed….cut across grain into slices and serve THIS IS RICH AND DELICIOUS….A NICE ELEGANT TOUCH TO THE USUAL CORNED BEEF!...ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
We just used the spice packet that came with the corned beef. I only had spicy brown mustard so I used 1/4 cup corn syrup and 1/4 cup light brown sugar. I ended up upping the mustard to 1/4 cup also. It was very watery from heating it on the stove and didnt coat it as thickly as I would have liked so I mixed another 1/4 cup brn sugar with 1/4c mustard coocked it and let it cool a bit to thinken before applying that as a second layer. Turned out fantastic, I've never seen my boys each so much meat at one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Having never really been a fan of corned beef I sure was surprised at how well this dish turned out. The glaze is superb and really adds a nice finish to the meat. After it came out of the oven, I let it rest for about an hour prior to slicing it up on our handy dandy Cabela's meat slicer which was set on a no. 2 setting. It provided just the right thickness for sandwiches which adorned some wonderful homemade buns that the mrs. had made. I know it was a hit because she went back for seconds, something she seldom ever does. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Sweet corned beef just isn't my family's thing. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
So easy, and it comes out so moist. Before you place the beef on the roasting pan line it with aluminum foil for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Since I had a point cut of corned beef, I trimmed as much of the fat as possible before cooking. I used only maybe a scant teaspoon of the spice and it was plenty pungent enough for us. Instead of corn syrup, used honey and brown mustard; didn't bother with the boiling. Did not take long to broil up. The meat was very tender and flavorful, the glaze gave just the right sweet/tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States