Mussels Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
This recipe was prepared in less than half an hour and was BETTER than that italian restaurant chain that I love so much!! Excellent receipe. If you love mussels, you will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe was amazing! I was a little nervous about making mussels as I'd never made them before, but this recipe was so easy. I bought live mussels that were already debearded. My boyfriend is from Cape Breton NS and had lots of good advice for making mussels. Soak them in fresh water for a half hour and they'll filter out most of the sand. Throw out any mussels that don't close up tight after being soaked, and after steaming, throw out any that don't open. This made a great romantic Valentine's Day meal with a few glasses of wine and some French bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This recipe was quick and easy to make but it was missing just one thing. Flavour. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This recipe, for us, is absolutely awesome, since we eat lots of seafood and shellfish. I have prepared it just once, but have wanted it every day since. It is very simple to prepare, and it tastes like you labored for hours in the kitchen. It's so good that I'm going to show our friend, a restaurant owner, how to prepare this recipe. He might even put it on the menu. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Really good. I, as well, was afraid the wine might over-power the mussels so I used half wine, half broth (hot water and chicken bullion). Also, I didn't have thyme, but I did add some lemon juice, extra onion and garlic, and Emeril's Italian Essence. Also, SHRIMP! My husband and I thought this recipe was very flavorful. Served over whole wheat fettuccine. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Great recipe -- very easy and incredibly flavorful. This will become part of our rotation. I doubled the garlic and substituted 1/2 cup of chicken broth for some of the wine. I used Pino Grigio. I sauteed the onion and garlic until soft, then added the other ingredients and simmered on low to medium heat for about ten minutes before adding the mussels. One other tip. We buy mussels by weight, not volume. We find that 3/4 pound per person is a generous portion. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenRussell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This is such a great recipe that it still tasted really good after I overcooked it! The wine, thyme and onions made a fantastic combination. I definatly suggest not multi-tasking while making this dish - it cooks fast. Enjoy, we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This is a good recipe i added more garlic then what calls for to give it extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Excellent recipe! The only thing I changed was instead of onion, I used shallots. My son and I ate the lot, and mopped out the pan with crusty bread. This one is a definite make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Quick, simple and delicious!!! I used a Sauvignon Blanc and even my 5 year old daughter loved it!!!! Next time I would add more garlic to it for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States