Mussels Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
My fresh parsley had gone bad so I subbed dried (not preferred in this dish but it was all I had) but that was the only change I made to start with. It was good but I felt it needed something so I sprinkled some grated parmesan over it, sliced up a few cherry tomatoes, and lastly squeezed fresh lemon over the top. As written I give it 4 stars, my additions bumped it to 5 stars. Thanks for sharing Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Excellent recipe! The only thing I changed was instead of onion, I used shallots. My son and I ate the lot, and mopped out the pan with crusty bread. This one is a definite make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
The recipe says to steam for 4 minutes and warns against overcooking. It actually took more like ten minutes, and we had to stir the mussels around so that ones on top got cooked, too. Otherwise, a very simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Yum Yum Yum! I just finished eating this and I feel compelled to review it immediately! This was delicious! I did make a few changes based on what I had on hand: I added 8 oz. of mushrooms because they really needed to be used up and cooked them with the onion. I also didn't have fresh parsley so I used 1 Tablespoon of dried. I also used half chicken broth and half white wine because I was afraid of the wine being a little overpowering, I may try it with only wine next time though because it didn't overpower the flavor at all this time around! Oh, I also added about 1 Tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken the sauce up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
it is very good and eaaasyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Great recipe -- very easy and incredibly flavorful. This will become part of our rotation. I doubled the garlic and substituted 1/2 cup of chicken broth for some of the wine. I used Pino Grigio. I sauteed the onion and garlic until soft, then added the other ingredients and simmered on low to medium heat for about ten minutes before adding the mussels. One other tip. We buy mussels by weight, not volume. We find that 3/4 pound per person is a generous portion. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenRussell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Quick, simple and delicious!!! I used a Sauvignon Blanc and even my 5 year old daughter loved it!!!! Next time I would add more garlic to it for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
very good, I will change just a bit next time and add more garlic and cook the wine/garlic for at least 45 minutes so there is more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
i cooked this dish for my family today.. and the wine was too overwhelming, i used a 2005 Bordeaux white... i added clams & shrimps as well, it turned out everything in the dish tasted just like wine but nothing else... totally screwed and embarrassing... i wont be cooking mussels for a while from now on..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was AWESOME! I didn't have white wine but I did have lobster broth so I used that. I could've drank the broth after the mussels were gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States