Mussels Mariniere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
This is a very traditional French recipe and it has never failed me! I use shallots instead of onions and I sometimes add heavy cream after removing the mussels from the pot for a creamier version of the broth. Yum! Valerie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
My boyfriend raved about these when I made them for a Valentines Day appetizer. He still asks for them every now and then out of the blue for a no-reason romantic dinner. I agree with adding a shot of heavy cream to make the sauce just thick enough to coat the mussels. I serve them as a first course appetizer in a shallow platter. I garnish the appetizer plates with plenty of lemon wedges for each of us and provide bowls for the discarded shells. Be sure to have a second set of fresh napkins ready when serving the second course because this appetizer will require full use of your first set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
It was my first time making mussels - this dish couldn't have been easier to make. Absolutely delicious... Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Awesome!!! The sauce was fantastic, restaurant-quality. Thanks Christine! My husband stated that he liked these better than the ones served at our favorite Italian restaurant. I left out the onion and the bay leaf, added extra garlic, used dried parsley in place of fresh. Also, I only had white zinfandel for the wine, so being that its pretty sweet, I only used 1 cup, otherwise I think it would have overpowered the sauce. I doubled the butter though, to compensate. Took others suggestions and added a shot of heavy cream at the end, which helped thicken the sauce a bit. Served with crusty bread and we mopped it up! Mmmm! Definitely cook the mussels in the sauce - like another reviewer said, if you don't, you will lose that mussel "liquor" which is released when they open, that really makes the sauce! No need to strain the sauce after, thats just extra work! Just take the mussels out, melt that extra butter, and pour the sauce over them! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
This was very easy to fix. Next time I would add salt to the broth. My husband loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
Quick and easy mussels in a rich and delicious sauce. I put some sundried tomato flavoured linguini in a bowl, put the mussels on top and covered in the sauce. It was great and was done (from start to finish) in 15-20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
In most places you can find farm raised mussels and these cut down on the time it takes to make them. The recipe was easy and great. You can add about a shot of whipping cream (if you are making it for 2 people) to it and it makes the sauce creamier and better! I only used about 50 mussels(1 1/2lbs.) for two people and it was more than enough as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Awesome. Good wine is a must. Added the shot of cream and it worked well. Doubled the sauce recipe for dipping crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This mussel recipe is really easy. The mussels turned out great - free of saltiness and grit. The sauce was great to dip bread in too. TIP: do not use a whole onion, this was waaaay too much. Also, add a bit of cream to the sauce for richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
Excellent recipe! Make sure to use a good wine or you will spoil it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States