Mussels Marinara di Amore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I eat mussels quite a bit. They are a favorite of mine. This recipe is bland, I am disappointed. I prefer a coconut curry sauce to this. I would not waste muscles on this recipe again. Even as a spaghetti sauce this was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Mohojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I sauteed some onion in the oil until tender. I also added more red pepper than the recipe called for along with a little salt. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This is a very good recipe and easy to make. I haven't made mussels since Mamma Rizzo sauce went out of business and this is a great replacement for the sauce, although not as spicy. As another user mentioned it did need salt. I also added garlic salt to get the flavor of additional salt and garlic. I served it over angel hair pasta. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was really good! my boyfriend really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Loved it. I added shrimp and scallops the "Spicy Grilled Shrimp" method. I added more garlic, finly sliced green onions and less tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffalochef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I didn't think this recipe was exceptional, but it had a good flavor. If I make it again, I will include more garlic and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was excellent! I used a few teaspoons of chili oil instead of the red pepper flakes. This is a great recipe because it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I did not even like mussels. I had tried some years ago in a restaurant, they were plain and steamed and did not care for them at all. So I got the nerve to try and cook my own. This was VERY good! The only things I changed were I added salt, used Italian seasoning, had some leftover shallots, added those. Used 4 cloves of garlic. Forgot to add the red pepper flakes so I used a bit of Franks Red Hot Lime and Chili on the side. It was delicious! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
great recipe.. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This dish was absolutely fabulous! I did alter the recipe somewhat to include scallops and shrimp as well, and added one minced shallot to the garlic and olive oil. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Italian Salsa di Noci

Discover how a special recipe can nourish great memories.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States