Mussels Marinara di Amore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
It's not really far for me to give this more or less stars. I didn't try it but made it for my husband who likes mussels only problem is we are not able to get fresh mussels up where we live so I used frozen and they came out chewy. So I dont think the problem was the dish but the mussels, he did like the sauce with it, although it was a little light for his taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I dont like mussels I'm just not a seafood lover. I made this dish for my husband's birthday and he loved it. This was also my first attempt at cooking seafood. I followed the recipe exactly and now when there is a special occasion my husband asks if I'll make this so I know it must be wonderful. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motheroftriplets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Wonderful! Doubled recipe for 1 1/2 lbs of mussels. Used the dried herbs while cooking the sauce along with lots of extra garlic and a diced shallot. But also added fresh basil and oregano with the mussels which added a freshness to the taste. Used petite diced instead of crushed tomatoes. This was easy and delicious with just some garlic bread on the side. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Excellent!!!!. The only thing that I added was a little bit of salt. This is the original italian recipe, adding other ingredients like tomato paste, ketchup or sausage would be a sin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I added extra fresh diced tomatoes, onions, & bell peppers and used fresh basil instead of dried. I also made it without adding the red pepper flakes to make it less spicy for others I was serving. Next time, I would add the red pepper flakes for more flavor. I found the sauce a little watery. I might add some tomato paste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Easy and delicious! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misterZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This recipe is great and I had never made mussels before in my life. I used canned pasta sauce instead but my husband LOVED the mussels! Said that they tasted like I've lived in Atlantic Canada my whole life!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magikalgirl79

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Steve
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Great, easy recipe with mussels. I added Italian sausage and it was awesome, so everyone said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nikiski, Alaska, USA
Living In: Naches, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was my first try with mussels and me and my husband thought it was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amand21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
this was quick and easy and AMAZING! i'd never cooked muscles before, so i was kind of scared about how it would turn out, but it was delicious! a little on the salty side, which might have had something to do with the muscles i used and not the actual recipe. either way i would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Italian Salsa di Noci

Discover how a special recipe can nourish great memories.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States