Mussels Marinara di Amore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was a great way to serve mussels. I used diced tomatoes that already had garlic and basil. Started by sautéing onion and pepper to the skillet. Also added a seafood mix of crab, shrimp, octopus, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I used canned clams instead of mussels. Worked out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Absolutely the best plus I got to finish the wine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi'Chelle Cooper-Tahirou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This is a great recipe and has a lot of room for your personal touch. I sauteed diced onions and green pepper with the garlic and oil in the beginning. I then added a can of diced tomatoes drained and a can of pre-seasoned marinara sauce. I used 2 lbs of mussels and a 1/2 of medium shrimp (the extra tomato sauce allowed for extra sea food). Add a dash of red pepper and hop on the bus to tasty town! My variation makes around 6 healthy servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Should've taken a picture.... the two available do NOT do the dish justice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This recipe is fast, simple, and very tasty! Reduce the sauce and add to *very* al dente pasta so the flavors can meld and the broth absorb. We frequently skip the pasta and enjoy the mussels alone. Lots of garlic, 5-10 cloves and a dash of kosher salt light this up. Ground chipotle brings a little smokiness and a hint of heat. The left-over broth is great as a soup, or a base for more dishes. 2-1/2 pounds of mussels, without pasta, feeds 2 people in our house. We are looking forward to adding other shellfish to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was delicious! It was my first time cooking muscles, and I had just bought what I thought would go with them, then found the recipe. So my tomatoes were diced. I also made closer to 12 oz pasta. Delish and much easier than I had thought! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlyr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
It's not really far for me to give this more or less stars. I didn't try it but made it for my husband who likes mussels only problem is we are not able to get fresh mussels up where we live so I used frozen and they came out chewy. So I dont think the problem was the dish but the mussels, he did like the sauce with it, although it was a little light for his taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I dont like mussels I'm just not a seafood lover. I made this dish for my husband's birthday and he loved it. This was also my first attempt at cooking seafood. I followed the recipe exactly and now when there is a special occasion my husband asks if I'll make this so I know it must be wonderful. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motheroftriplets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Wonderful! Doubled recipe for 1 1/2 lbs of mussels. Used the dried herbs while cooking the sauce along with lots of extra garlic and a diced shallot. But also added fresh basil and oregano with the mussels which added a freshness to the taste. Used petite diced instead of crushed tomatoes. This was easy and delicious with just some garlic bread on the side. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Italian Salsa di Noci

Discover how a special recipe can nourish great memories.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States