Mushy Peas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have made this recipe twice - once as is and the second time I substituted chicken stock for the heavy cream and added a teaspoon of wasabi powder. Loved both versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is a quick and delicious recipe! My boyfriend is British and thought they were very good. Not as smooth as mushy peas from an English chip shop, but the flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Yummy! I have one son that doesn't like peas and now I have a recipie everyone enjoys. I used half and half because I didn't have cream. Thanks this ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
These came out great. I boiled three cloves of garlic with the peas, then mushed them up together, then added fat-free creamer, a spoonful of sour cream, and eyeballed the butter and salt and pepper, and they came out fantastic! The texture was knobbly-smooth and the flavor went perfectly with a pecan-crusted, honey-mustard glazed salmon recipe also found on this site. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I was a little skeptical at first, but was this really good! My five year old daughter (the picky one) even asked for seconds! My husband enjoyed as well and he won't usually eat any vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I've made this numerous times and just realized that I never gave this recipe a proper review!! This is a great side dish to have in your back pocket in case you're out of potatoes or you just don't feel like having a carbo-load side dish of rice or something like that.. Even if you don't usually like peas, I would give this a try. I cook a large bag of frozen peas.. drain them realllly well (this is important), dump them into my food processor and add about a 1/4 to 1/2 package of Light Cream Cheese... whiz it all up and make sure to add a generous amount of kosher salt and a grinding of pepper! I will make this again and again.. its a shame I don't have any children, cause I'm sure this would get them to eat their peas.. well it works on my husband ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCRAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was perfect! I've never been a huge fan of peas, don't mind them, but they're not one of my favorites. My fiancee, on the other hand, LOVES peas, so I try to come up with different ways to cook them so that we both like them, and I've finally done it with this recipe. From now on, this is going to be my default peas recipe - super quick, delicious, and easy clean up since I used my immersion blender and "mushed" them in the same pan that I cooked them in. Wonderful side dish - I served this with roast beef and Yorkshire pudding for a big, complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
It has a nice peppery flavor without overwhelming the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinnieMay9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Best peas ever. I did not want mine so pureed, so I just used a hand held potato masher to mush them up with the butter, cream, salt, and pepper and they turned out GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
My boyfriend and I just returned from the UK and we fell in love with mushy peas while we were over there. I was delighted to find a recipe for them on allrecipes, however I was really skeptical as to how they would taste. These were AWESOME, and tasted just like the mushy peas we enjoyed in England! Thank you so much for this easy, delicious recipe. I served these with traditional fish and chips... fried cod and fried potato strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States