Mushy Peas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
TIP: For authentic mushy peas as served in English/Irish pubs, you never start with canned or frozen peas. This is an easy basic recipe to which you can add seasonings, that I will be bringing to a St Paddy's day party hosted by Irish friends from Dublin: Soak dried peas overnight in a large bowl with several cups of water, and 2 tsp. of baking soda. The baking soda is important as that is what makes the peas break down. The next day, drain the peas, add water just to cover, and simmer for 20 mintues. The peas will break up nicely without mashing. Add a little water if needed to bring to the consistency you like. Don't season until the end or it toughens the peas. It's great served with malt vinegar, and you can add mint if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Peas are always a great side dish, however if you are looking for AUTHENTIC mushy peas, you need to use marrowfat peas and follow the directions. Being from England, i am fussy about my peas and no other peas but marrowfat peas will truly make traditional english mushy peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
My boyfriend and I just returned from the UK and we fell in love with mushy peas while we were over there. I was delighted to find a recipe for them on allrecipes, however I was really skeptical as to how they would taste. These were AWESOME, and tasted just like the mushy peas we enjoyed in England! Thank you so much for this easy, delicious recipe. I served these with traditional fish and chips... fried cod and fried potato strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
These came out great. I boiled three cloves of garlic with the peas, then mushed them up together, then added fat-free creamer, a spoonful of sour cream, and eyeballed the butter and salt and pepper, and they came out fantastic! The texture was knobbly-smooth and the flavor went perfectly with a pecan-crusted, honey-mustard glazed salmon recipe also found on this site. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Best peas ever. I did not want mine so pureed, so I just used a hand held potato masher to mush them up with the butter, cream, salt, and pepper and they turned out GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have made this recipe twice - once as is and the second time I substituted chicken stock for the heavy cream and added a teaspoon of wasabi powder. Loved both versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was perfect! I've never been a huge fan of peas, don't mind them, but they're not one of my favorites. My fiancee, on the other hand, LOVES peas, so I try to come up with different ways to cook them so that we both like them, and I've finally done it with this recipe. From now on, this is going to be my default peas recipe - super quick, delicious, and easy clean up since I used my immersion blender and "mushed" them in the same pan that I cooked them in. Wonderful side dish - I served this with roast beef and Yorkshire pudding for a big, complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Not bad. I am not a pea lover, but my husband adores them, so I needed a recipe that I might want to eat too. It was actually pretty good. I think next time I will use less pepper and perhaps add some sauted onions or crispy bacon. However, you got this girl to eat peas, so consider this recipe a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melpy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
While both of us like it the taste wasn't much different from actual peas. I did like the consistency so I guess if you want something like that and aren't making potatoes it might be better. Will probably make again. Very very easy. Made with cheddar chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delish! Yes, you have to like peas... but if you do, you're sure to enjoy this. I used a stick blender, rather than a food processor, which worked just fine, and half-and-half instead of heavy cream. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States