Mushy Peas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
It has a nice peppery flavor without overwhelming the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinnieMay9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
My boyfriend and I just returned from the UK and we fell in love with mushy peas while we were over there. I was delighted to find a recipe for them on allrecipes, however I was really skeptical as to how they would taste. These were AWESOME, and tasted just like the mushy peas we enjoyed in England! Thank you so much for this easy, delicious recipe. I served these with traditional fish and chips... fried cod and fried potato strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Not bad, not sure if i should heat up the next time. Served it with salmon and the combination was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Best peas ever. I did not want mine so pureed, so I just used a hand held potato masher to mush them up with the butter, cream, salt, and pepper and they turned out GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is a quick and delicious recipe! My boyfriend is British and thought they were very good. Not as smooth as mushy peas from an English chip shop, but the flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have made this recipe twice - once as is and the second time I substituted chicken stock for the heavy cream and added a teaspoon of wasabi powder. Loved both versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was perfect! I've never been a huge fan of peas, don't mind them, but they're not one of my favorites. My fiancee, on the other hand, LOVES peas, so I try to come up with different ways to cook them so that we both like them, and I've finally done it with this recipe. From now on, this is going to be my default peas recipe - super quick, delicious, and easy clean up since I used my immersion blender and "mushed" them in the same pan that I cooked them in. Wonderful side dish - I served this with roast beef and Yorkshire pudding for a big, complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Yummy! I have one son that doesn't like peas and now I have a recipie everyone enjoys. I used half and half because I didn't have cream. Thanks this ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA
Photo by melpy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
While both of us like it the taste wasn't much different from actual peas. I did like the consistency so I guess if you want something like that and aren't making potatoes it might be better. Will probably make again. Very very easy. Made with cheddar chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I first had these in London with fish and chips so I was really happy to see this on allrecipes. Unfortunately, I didnt have any cream on hand so I had to use 2% milk and I just couldnt get the same creamy texture (even though I added a little more butter). I ended up adding a little bit of potato to help get a better consistency. Came out tasting great, it was a great accompaniment to the meal I made but its just not the same (as the authentic English kind) without the cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States