Mushy Peas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
TIP: For authentic mushy peas as served in English/Irish pubs, you never start with canned or frozen peas. This is an easy basic recipe to which you can add seasonings, that I will be bringing to a St Paddy's day party hosted by Irish friends from Dublin: Soak dried peas overnight in a large bowl with several cups of water, and 2 tsp. of baking soda. The baking soda is important as that is what makes the peas break down. The next day, drain the peas, add water just to cover, and simmer for 20 mintues. The peas will break up nicely without mashing. Add a little water if needed to bring to the consistency you like. Don't season until the end or it toughens the peas. It's great served with malt vinegar, and you can add mint if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Great. I combined Mushy Peas II recipe with this one and added the green onions and mint. Also, I used my favorite peas "Le Sueur Very Young Early Peas" in the silver can. (they are THE best!!) My boyfriend from Ireland liked this recipe very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I've made this numerous times and just realized that I never gave this recipe a proper review!! This is a great side dish to have in your back pocket in case you're out of potatoes or you just don't feel like having a carbo-load side dish of rice or something like that.. Even if you don't usually like peas, I would give this a try. I cook a large bag of frozen peas.. drain them realllly well (this is important), dump them into my food processor and add about a 1/4 to 1/2 package of Light Cream Cheese... whiz it all up and make sure to add a generous amount of kosher salt and a grinding of pepper! I will make this again and again.. its a shame I don't have any children, cause I'm sure this would get them to eat their peas.. well it works on my husband ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCRAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
These were great. They only reason I gave them a four is because I couldn't seem to get over the thought of mushy peas. But they tasted great. Make sure you serve hot hot hot. They cool very quickly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
These came out great. I boiled three cloves of garlic with the peas, then mushed them up together, then added fat-free creamer, a spoonful of sour cream, and eyeballed the butter and salt and pepper, and they came out fantastic! The texture was knobbly-smooth and the flavor went perfectly with a pecan-crusted, honey-mustard glazed salmon recipe also found on this site. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Pretty good and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I was a little skeptical at first, but was this really good! My five year old daughter (the picky one) even asked for seconds! My husband enjoyed as well and he won't usually eat any vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I first had these in London with fish and chips so I was really happy to see this on allrecipes. Unfortunately, I didnt have any cream on hand so I had to use 2% milk and I just couldnt get the same creamy texture (even though I added a little more butter). I ended up adding a little bit of potato to help get a better consistency. Came out tasting great, it was a great accompaniment to the meal I made but its just not the same (as the authentic English kind) without the cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melpy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
While both of us like it the taste wasn't much different from actual peas. I did like the consistency so I guess if you want something like that and aren't making potatoes it might be better. Will probably make again. Very very easy. Made with cheddar chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Yummy! I have one son that doesn't like peas and now I have a recipie everyone enjoys. I used half and half because I didn't have cream. Thanks this ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States