Mushy Peas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Peas are always a great side dish, however if you are looking for AUTHENTIC mushy peas, you need to use marrowfat peas and follow the directions. Being from England, i am fussy about my peas and no other peas but marrowfat peas will truly make traditional english mushy peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Delicious! I mashed the peas with a potato masher like another reviewer suggested, and they were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Not bad. I am not a pea lover, but my husband adores them, so I needed a recipe that I might want to eat too. It was actually pretty good. I think next time I will use less pepper and perhaps add some sauted onions or crispy bacon. However, you got this girl to eat peas, so consider this recipe a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
We really enjoyed these, especially my toddler son. I mashed the peas with a potato masher, and whipped them smooth with the hand mixer. Used half and half and they were a great consistency. I served them with roast chicken and mashed potatoes. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These were a great and healthy alternative to mashed potatoes. I used light soy milk because I'm lactose intolerant. I also used garlic salt instead of regular. Next time I'll use dried peas as suggested and maybe add a little bit of onion and use fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Yum! Reminds me of the fish and chips dinners I ate in Ireland's and England's cozy pubs. I didn't have cream so I used sour cream and a potato masher. Be sure to heat the cream and warm up the butter before stirring into the peas. Same goes for mashed potatoes..comes out way better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Wow these are so good! And simple. I used fat-free half and half and they turned out perfectly. I made these with grilled brats and garlic mashed potatoes for Bangers and Mash. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I don't eat mushy peas so I didn't have any but they got pretty decent reviews. The only thing was that my mum said they were too mushy which was the fault of my million year old blender (and not the operator!). Decent recipe but nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenkelly246

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I agree with Akrotiri's review of 3/10/08. Authentic British Mushy Peas are made from dried split peas, soaked overnight in water with 2 tsp. of baking soda - follow Akrotiri's recipe. They have their own unique taste and lend themselves to additions of butter, half-and-half, mint and/or malt vinegar. Mushy Peas are part of my fond memories of growing up in England years ago. My American born husband found the dried pea recipe "interesting;" he preferred the frozen pea recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Surprisingly good. It makes me like peas again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States