Mushy Peas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Certainly not traditional Scottish, English or Irish Pub style to serve with fish and chips since they lack the tangy flavour, but they are Peas and they are Mushy so I give this a five. However, best to use dried Marrowfat Peas for colour and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I was looking for a British veggie recipe to serve as part of our Harry Potter birthday dinner today. Some friends on the Recipe Exchange said that Mushy Peas are British, so I went with these. They were pretty good, but I did find that I needed a little extra salt and pepper. I don't have a food processor, so I just mushed the peas up with the back of a slotted spoon. Thanks for rounding out our Harry Potter birthday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I liked the mushy peas and liked saying it, but no one else in my family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
MMMMM... MUSHY PEAS!!! I JUST LOVE SAYING MUSHY PEAS... THESE WERE GREAT- TASTED LIKE THE ONES WE EAT AT OUR FAVORITE IRISH PUB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Excellent recipes, never had them before, but needed them for a English dinner I was making; guest who had them in England before loved them, so give this recipe a try, very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Perfectly delicious! I love mushy peas with my fish n chips at the pub, but had never thought of making them at home, now I think I'll make them all the time, they're so good and easy to make! I made this and mashed potatoes with veg gravy to accompany the lentil loaf recipe - my husband and i were in heaven! I did use just my regular low fat milk instead of the heavy cream and wasn't bothered by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpkin girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Perfect! What a great way to eat a vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Had as a side for Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding. Stellar! Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misterZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Just made some to go with my saturday morning fry-up. Great stuff with kippers! 5 stars,Stella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by migsy
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I was actually pleasantly surprised by the taste. I only made them on a lark, after joking about them with an English friend of mine, especially since they don't look all that appetizing. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was so easy. I'll definitely be making them again, and may even try using cream cheese instead of the heavy cream, like someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States