Mushy Peas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Delicious and I don't even like peas! I will be making this again! Thanks for the recipe it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Good, true recipe. I use sour cream instead of heavy cream as per Nigela's advice. I sometimes put in a little mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Not bad, but I much prefer my peas unmushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Very good! I used this recipe to make my own version of Harry's Tiger Pies. I followed the recipe & added in a bit of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
great recipe for when you can't find the traditional peas used in mushy peas. Taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
As an expat Brit, craving mushy peas, I enjoyed this recipe. Thank you! It did lack something, though. I can remember my grandma boiling up a pot of dried peas, and they were delicious. I guess frozen peas weren't an option in her day. I'll see if I can get a recipe from one of my elderly relatives still in the UK, and post it. Now if anyone out there can tell me how to replicate Fray Bentos Steak and Kidney pies... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by expatgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Good taste, but awfully rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I have never had this dish before, but I like peas and was making fish and chips, so what the hey! I have no experience to compare this recipe with another, but I did find it very tasty and a nice addition to my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I'd never had/heard of "Mushy Peas" until I stumbled upon them here on AR. I added the recipe to my box and promptly forgot about it. I "found" it this week and decided to (finally) give it a whirl. I made the recipe even easier by using a (12oz) bag of Steam Fresh peas, then tossed them in the blender w/the butter, salt, and 1% milk. Super easy and quite yummy, for peas! I have a feeling these will become a last minute side staple at the LTH house. THANKS, Stella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These peas look so festive on the plate, really lovely color. I didn't have heavy cream but 2% milk seemed to work well enough in this recipe. Easy to eat too. Hats off to you, Stella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States