Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The filling was a little bland thus I changed the recipe. Since the dough was amazing I used it and filled it with brie and cranberry sauce. These were a fantastic appetizer for my Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made these with some variations. I made them bite-size and they were devoured. Still have a ton of dough left and some filling so will make the rest tomorrow. My variations were as follows: Substituted shallots for the onions. Added garlic (2 cloves) Add one finely chopped birds eye chili pepper Did an egg wash on top before baking (as another reviewer suggested) The turnovers were flaky and the flavors complimented each other well. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I had some filling to use up so I just made the pastry which was awesome. Very light and flaky and I thought it was easy to work with. They do take longer than 15 minutes to bake however, I pronounced them done at about 25 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Not bad, not great. Pastry turned out nicely flaky, but was fairly difficult to work with. Filling a little bland and somewhat watery - had to thicken it up quite a bit before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I have never made pastry successfully before trying this recipie. They turned out beautifully! The recipie did yield 22 instead of 10, but they all disappeared fast. I added cooked crumbled bacon to the filling and more salt, but the rest was the same. I even took a photo of them, my first success with pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Great Filling ! They took a little longer to cook than it said. Next time I would make the rounds larger than 3" You cannot get much filling in them. In a hurry use refrigerated pie crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amysaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
These were easy enough to make, but I froze the turnovers before baking. They turned out messy, leaky and sloppy. The filling had way too much liquid after freezing as the turnovers thawed in the oven. In addition, the dough seemed very thick. If trying it again, I'd roll out to 1/8 inch thickness rather than 1/4 inch. And if baking from frozen, I'd try upping the oven temp to 375 so maybe it would mitigate some of the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
The crust was really light and flaky, but the filling was just too bland. If I make this again I'd add some more flavor to it somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
It sounded good on paper, but the filling was too sour; the combination of cheeses did not compliment the mushrooms, particularly the sweetness of the sliced portabellas I chose to use. This recipe is a little too time-consuming and messy for the unremarkable end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I was disappointed with these. Even my husband, who will scoff anything and everything said these were 'just alright.' I thought the filling was really bland, so I added 2 fat cloves of freshly-minced garlic. The cream cheese pastry was quite nice, but not worth the extra calories, in my opinion. I probably won't make these again, but thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States