Mushroom Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Not only has my mom been making these turnovers for years I myself have made them several times and they always turn out stellar and receive rave reviews. The pastry is fabulous and very easy to work with and the filling is tasty. The only adjustments I like to make are the addtion of one large clove of garlic, minced and roughly 1 tbsp of worcestishire sauce for added zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I only used the crust. Its extraordinary. I used homemade ricotta instead of cream cheese and a few tbsp. oil instead of butter, and also whole wheat pastry flour, inspite of my changes, the crust is spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These were fantastic. I added cooked chopped spinach to the mixture along with some grated parmesan cheese. Added egg wash to the top of the crust like some suggested. Really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsayce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These were good. I don't like making dough because it's too much work but this wasn't bad. The second time I made them I took the easy way out and used refrigerated crescent rolls and they were equally good. I took the advice of another reviewer and used some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
these are pretty good but need more flavor. Next time I will definitely add feta cheese and possibly sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is great. My family nearly made themselves sick eating these delicious wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kinna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These were ok, but not excellent. I will make them again with more mushrooms, less onions, more garlic and more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The crust recipe is versatile and delicious as a pie crust, and the filling is better than Trader Joe's version of these (& so expensive to buy)! Thanks a million, these are a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I've been searching for a recipe similar to the ones my mom used to make (she lost hers). This seems pretty close. I made a few changes to the filling though: I doubled the thyme I added garlic powder I added a little cooked spinach A smidge of cayenne pepper I used more than 1/2 the onion And my boyfriend and I both thought they were delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The filling was a little bland thus I changed the recipe. Since the dough was amazing I used it and filled it with brie and cranberry sauce. These were a fantastic appetizer for my Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States