Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Do not use bread crumbs!!! Use cubed bread. Needs way more chicken broth, probably at least 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I used 12 cups of bread CUBES, 2.5 cups of vegetable stock, 1/4 cup of cream, 4 ribs of celery, 5 shallots instead of onions, and added 3 sprigs of thyme, 6 sage leaves, & 1 sprig of rosemary. I omitted the apple, the poultry seasoning and the parsley, and cooked it in my largest round Corningware casserole dish. I LOVED it and I wish I could eat it every day. However, this dish requires a fair amount of prep time, especially the cubing and baking of 3 batches of bread cubes (10 minutes per batch). Definitely not an everyday dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
You don't use 12 cups of crumbs! You use 12 cups of dried CUBED bread. I just tear up a loaf of bread into crouton size chunks the night before and let them air dry till next day. Awesome, easy to adjust to personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I really liked this recipe. The mushrooms I used were chanterelles and portobello. Chanterelle mushrooms are my fave and the portobello adds a meatiness in the stuffing. I also had some broccoli on hand so I threw that in for more green. Before making this, I did refer to the other reviews about adding more liquid and what a great tip that was, however, because I had to scale the recipe greatly, I had to be careful not to add too much liquid. Overall, a solid stuffing to compliment your turkey and gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I cooked this in the crock pot and used the bread stuffing cubes instead of crumbs. Also increased broth to 2 cups. It's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I can't see how this recipe can possibly work with the quantity of ingredients listed. Even after mega tweaking it was dry and bland to our palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made this to go along with the easy cornish game hens and it was excellent. The entire family enjoyed it as there were not any left overs. I actually followed the recipe as is and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My husband and our guests would've given this 5 stars but I wasn't blown away by it. I used half the bread cubes, twice the chicken broth and portobellos instead of regular mushrooms. Probably about triple the spices too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I think its suppose to be 1/2 cup, not 12 cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DubG GG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Okay, there are a few things you need to know about this recipe. It is a good blueprint for stuffing, but 1) DO NOT USE CRUMBS!!! Substitute for cubed bread, I used a bag from the grocery store, which turned out find. Also, 12 cups is too much, 10 cups of cubed bread worked very well. 2) USE AT LEAST 3 CUPS CHICKEN BROTH/STOCK. This made it moist and delicious!!! 3) ADD ONE CLOVE GARLIC to the onion/celery saute. And finally, 4) USE A VARIETY OF MUSHROOMS, this will add to the depth of flavor of the stuffing. I used a gourmet mix and 'baby bellos'. I did a 'rehearsal' of this recipe tonight and it came out absolutely delicious with the changes I listed above. If you have any mushroom lovers in your house, this will surely be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States