Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Okay, there are a few things you need to know about this recipe. It is a good blueprint for stuffing, but 1) DO NOT USE CRUMBS!!! Substitute for cubed bread, I used a bag from the grocery store, which turned out find. Also, 12 cups is too much, 10 cups of cubed bread worked very well. 2) USE AT LEAST 3 CUPS CHICKEN BROTH/STOCK. This made it moist and delicious!!! 3) ADD ONE CLOVE GARLIC to the onion/celery saute. And finally, 4) USE A VARIETY OF MUSHROOMS, this will add to the depth of flavor of the stuffing. I used a gourmet mix and 'baby bellos'. I did a 'rehearsal' of this recipe tonight and it came out absolutely delicious with the changes I listed above. If you have any mushroom lovers in your house, this will surely be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this for my vegetarian sister and it was pretty good. Not my favorite stuffing recipe but definitely tasty. I changed it up just slightly... I used roasted garlic bread loaves purchased from Costco. Tore it into pieces and let it dry out for almost 24 hours. I then proceeded with the recipe. I used baby bella mushrooms for the shroom part. I added a teaspoon of dry sage along with the poultry seasoning stage, because stuffing just isn't the same to me without sage (personal preference :). I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to honor the vegetarian eater and I didn't measure how much... I just added it slowly until it seemed to be appropriately moistened. I think I used about 1 1/3 cans. Turned out quite well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This stuffing is wonderful, I too added portabella mushrooms and used a lot more chicken broth than stated. I turned out very moist and flavorful. I also melted a stick of butter and mixed in. Everything is better with butter and its a special occasion so I figured what the heck!! My daughter can't keep her hands off of it!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This recipe was very good but I did make a few changes. I made it with cubed french bread that had been toasted. I also added way more salt, pepper and poultry then the recipe called for. I am glad because I think it would have been very bland otherwise. I also did not add parsley because I did not have any. I will be making this again for sure. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was quite nice, although I think it could have done with a bit more punch to it, perhaps a bit more onion than the recipe called for and some sage as we found it slightly bland. I also think it would have worked better with cubed bread rather than finer breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen1203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Add a little more broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe turned out amazing! Thought it might come out dry but read the other reviews and added more broth, perfect! I also put a little spin on it and left out the apples but added some sausage. Before it went into the over, coated it with some parm. Gave it that crusty yumminess! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was great. I left out the celery and the apple, and I only used one loaf of bread that I broke up and dried afew days beforehand, I didn't measure it by cups. It was perfectly moist, and had the taste I was looking for. (I am really picky about stuffing.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This recipe calls for 12 cups of bread CRUMBS. This has to be a typo. I believe cubes or crutons is what is ment to be used. I made this recipe today and there is no way that 12 cups of bread CRUMBS is accurate. I ended up using 1/2 a gallon of broth just to make it managable. The end result is pretty tasty...but I doubt it is what the intended result should have been. The single star does not represent the quality of the food, rather the accuracy of the recipe. I will be making a second attempt tomorrow, with cubes/crutons, and I will post the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grillzilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is the third time I do this recipe. i love it, everyone loves it. It's traditional but the sweetness of the apples adds a modern twist to it. Try it once, you'll love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILESCHINDER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Vegetarian Stuffing

A Thanksgiving side dish that will delight vegetarians and meat lovers alike.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States