Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Presentation was 5 stars, no doubt! What an easy way to make yourself look like you know what you're doing. Flavor was pretty good but the second time I made this, I upped the seasonings a bit and left out the nutmeg because it just wasn't to my family's tastes (thus the 4 stars). Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Read

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I would give the "version" that I made 5 stars. I used this recipe as a base, for what I was actually looking for in this recipe. I ended up cooking the mushrooms, in butter and white wine, along with minced garlic and onion. I butterflied and stuffed the chicken breasts. And then....I put a little butter in the pan, used for the mushrooms and added some cream of mushroom soup, cream and wine. I whisked these together and topped the chicken with the cream mixture. When the chicken was cooked, I poured off the cream/cream of mushroom mixture, back into the sauce pan....and added a little more ingredient to thicken it, into a gravy type sauce. It was AWESOME! I will definitely make this again...and play around with the ingredients. It just seemed too bland, topped merely with cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I wanted to like this recipe. It was just... kinda bland. I found the technique of just "pouring" the wet ingreds made it... soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This was tremendously juicy and tender chicken! I just loved it! I substituted cream of mushroom soup for the cream, added garlic to the mushrooms and served over rice. Delicious! Definitely a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This one's a keeper! I made it for my monthly "Lunch Bunch" group & everyone loved it. I did add finely chopped onions & sauteed them w/ the mushrooms for extra flavor. Next time I will also add some chopped garlic. I also added some of my favorite seasonings, like garlic pepper, instead of plain black pepper. I made sure the mushrooms were finely chopped in order to roll it into the chicken better. Definitely added to my recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree Larkin Kamenitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe. I must admit that I'm not patient enough for all the pounding and stuff so I just cut it half lengthwise, laid the mushroom mixture on one half, then closed it over. No toothpicks or anything. I added garlic and diced onion. The chicken was juicy, the filling was flavorful. What else can a busy mom ask for? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I'm going to have to work on this one. My family isn't used to nutmeg, so if I make this recipe again I will either cut it back to 1/4 tsp. or omit it all together. It was okay overall, just not what my family is accustom to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Oh Lord. We loved this one. I split my chicken breast in half and pounded down, added fresh basil and mozzerella (not shredded) on top of mushroom mixture. Used light cream and more nutmeg than suggested, I also added a little parmesan cheese to the cream. Delish. The chicken was so juicy and the mushroom stuffing was excellent. "Keeper" per my family and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Another Allrecipes success!!!!! I went against the reviews and coursely chopped the mushrooms. I felt by doing this the breadcrumbs wouldn't get lost in the mushroom mixture and it would give you a nice texture. Pounded my breasts to make it easier to roll. Instead of just throwing breadcrumbs on top before baking, I used the leftover mushroom breadcrumb mixture (more interesting). Upon first tasting the chicken, I was a bit disappointed but then I decided to try the sauce with the chicken. What two different tastes! Then, I added a splash of white wine and mixed it all together. Even better! I cannot wait to make this again. It was simple and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I can't rave enough about this dish. It was excellent and very easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States